Strength rankings question

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by VideoJunky, Sep 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. VideoJunky

VideoJunky New Member

Hey guys, Im a highschool student still and I like to keep in shape. Unfortunately, putting lifting 3 to 5 times a week on a college activities list doesnt look that impressive since its not a sport or official activity.

I was wondering if there's an official strength ranking system in the USA, that a school could recognise as an achievement for my weight class. I'd figure that could help me set a goal and I can work my way to achieving it, while benefitting from the time i put into lifting.

Thanks

2. uofapeter

uofapeter New Member

there is powerlifting competitions and ranking systems within those.

3. JoeyCrack

JoeyCrack Active Member

i wouldnt down play writing that you work out in the gym 3-5 days a week. Despite what you may think it does show a sign of dedication this of course is my lowly humble opinion.

4. Gohan4862

Gohan4862 New Member

instead of powerlifting, perhaps weightlifting may be more recognised?

5. uofapeter

uofapeter New Member

he said he wanted an official strength ranking system. i dont know of a non-powerlifting official strength ranking system

6. VideoJunky

VideoJunky New Member

I was kinda looking for a weight class ranking system that would basically mean you are a good powerlifter if you can do X in such things. Competition awards might be as worthy but idk. Anyone else have an idea of what I'm looking at?

7. cavefish

cavefish You ain't a crook son, you just a shook one

Totaling elite is pretty much the gold standard but you need to actually compete to do that. Why would you even mention this on a college application though?

8. uofapeter

uofapeter New Member