stop 0x00000024 ntfs.sys

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by j_nx, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. j_nx

    j_nx master of the universe!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento
    so it seems that my ntfs.sys on my boot disk is corrupted.

    i'm running winxp.

    searching google, everything seems to indicate that i need to figure out a way to boot from another disk, remove the ntfs.sys and run chkdsk on the corrupted disk.

    however, what they fail to mention is how to avoid the bsod that immediately comes up when i load up the corrupted disk.

    i've tried plugging this corrupt disk into a fat32 os = bsod in safe mode
    i've tried running recovery console from orginal winxp cd = bsod
    i've tried using bartpe = bsod

    so i'm not able to remove the corrupted ntfs.sys from the corrupted disk. the only thing that i can think of which i haven't tried is using linux and removing the ntfs.sys from linux.

    but i've got a slow internet connection and it'll take me a while to download a linux bootcd.

    meanwhile, does anyone have any other suggestions that i can try?
     
  2. EkriirkE

    EkriirkE Zika Xenu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    14,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin & San Francisco, CA
    you are on the right track, I've seen this with a corrupt file systsem, not just driver.. and a linux boot cd was the only way I could access it to recover the files. Even a windows boot cd would bsod on ntfs
     
  3. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Are you sure you're actually booting up the other OS? The other OS shouldn't even look at the broken disk. Using an external enclosure would allow you to boot up the other OS before attaching the drive.
     
  4. j_nx

    j_nx master of the universe!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento
    yeah, pretty much everything bsod's with this disk hooked up.

    right now, i can't even format the disk or anything.

    so hopefully this linux thing will work.
     
  5. j_nx

    j_nx master of the universe!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento
    yeah, i tried using an external enclosure.

    it bsod's the second i plug in the corrupt disk.
     
  6. Ameter

    Ameter Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    97,795
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    stupid question, but when you're switching OSes and whatnot, are you making the old boot drive a slave drive? (either change the cable position under cable select, or changing the jumper to slave)

    If it's still the primary master, it doesn't matter what other drive you put in. Unless you got a bootloader, it will boot your problem drive.
     
  7. EkriirkE

    EkriirkE Zika Xenu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    14,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin & San Francisco, CA
    Just the fact that BartPE BSODs on it means its the filesystem
     

Share This Page