Stoopit question about how to put MP3's on a CD

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Keyser Soze, Jan 31, 2002.

1. Keyser Soze

Keyser Soze Guest

I'm new at this, so excuse my ignorance.

I've burned regular cd's onto cd-r's for the normal 74 mins of music.

Do I need another program to burn MP3's onto CD-R(W)'s to get the 10 hrs of music that all the manufacturers are now advertising? Can I record my normal CD's into MP3's and then make MP3 CD's? What's the best program? Any suggestions? Thanks!
  2. DaBman4DSC

DaBman4DSC Guest

no, just burn em as files, not audio..
  3. Guest

Guest Guest

What he said. Mp3s are data files rather than CDI or what ever the cd audio format is.. escapes me at the moment.

Anyways, that's prety much it. Burn them "as is".
  4. Keyser Soze

Keyser Soze Guest

So I'd use the "data" selection on my burner instead of "audio"?

Next question: how would I get music off my CD's and onto the computer as MP3's?

5. Keyser Soze

Keyser Soze Guest

To complete my ignorance on this subject...

Can I use audio CD-R's to burn the MP3's onto, or do I use data CD-R's? Thanks again!!
  6. Keyser Soze

Keyser Soze Guest

Can I use audio CD-R's or do I need to use data CD-R's? thanks!
  7. mgs333

mgs333 Guest

all cdr's are the same, there is no 'audio' cdrs and no 'data' cdrs.
  8. Keyser Soze

Keyser Soze Guest

You might want to check that, 'cuz there is...

"Not all blank CDs are created equal
    Lots of stores sell blank discs that are intended for use with computer-based CD recorders. However, blank computer CDs are not compatible with audio CD recorders, so be sure to use blank audio discs (the logo on the packaging must include the words "Digital Audio"). "
  9. b.c.skunk

b.c.skunk Guest