Startup Error In Windows XP SP2

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Shinta, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. Shinta

    Shinta New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NCC-1701-E
    Sup guys thought I'd ask if you guys knew what was going on with my laptop. Since yesterday my computer has been unable to boot completely. It'll go to a blue screen that says STOP 0.0000007 (0XC0000087 etc...). Well I went into safe mode and pulled up my event viewer and noticed this

    The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load:
    AFD
    Fips
    intelppm
    IPSec
    MRxSmb
    NetBIOS
    NetBT
    OMCI
    RasAcd
    Rdbss
    Tcpip

    Any help will be appreciated, it's my only computer I have right now :wtc:
     
  2. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    I googled your error.
    Are you running Norton 2008?
    Check this link out:

    http://forums.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?p=689589

    Even if you are not running Norton...
    within that link they talk about installing a hotfix from Microsoft. I think you should try to install regardless if you are running Norton or not. Worst case it shouldn't do anything, best case is it fixes everything.

    If that doesn't work google the entire message, including the part you said 'etc' for.

    Update the thread if you are still stuck.
     
  3. Shinta

    Shinta New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NCC-1701-E
  4. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Dell Computer?
     
  5. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I keep trying to tell myself ignore the brand name, but dell has fucked up so many of its OEM installs that I would partly blame norton and windows xp not cooperating. Does it work in safe mode with networking?
     
  6. Shinta

    Shinta New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NCC-1701-E
    Yep it's a DELL and it does boot up in safe mode with networking. FUCKING DELL. I'm sorry guys looks like i'm gonna have to leave Windows and go to OSX
    :hsugh:
     
  7. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Are you running norton 2008?
     

Share This Page