WEB Starting a forum for my local area (total newb)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Yuppy, Jan 16, 2008.

1. Yuppy

Yuppy Have a seat right there....

This is my goal: To have the main forum for people in my area. Obviously from my posts in this forum right now I know nothing at all. I know that. I think I know how to market it to at least get members. I am confident I can create hits, get members locally.

I already have my domain picked out I think. If I am successful I am going to buy another website (that stole my first name pick) and then link it to the other site. Anyway right now I am in the start up phase, obviously. I would like to be able to sell ads on the site and possibly generate some sort of pay per view revenue as well. Is it possible to generate pay per visit revenue in the site if I use vBullietin? Through like adsense or some sort of banner exchange site?

I am tapped into the local MMA scene pretty well and have contacts with the 2 local fight show promoters, I would bet that I could sell them some sort of ad, since they already advertise on TV and some on the net. I'd also talk to other local biz owners to see if they would be interested in placing an ad.

But back to my point. Is there a way to generate revenue even if no one
    clicks any links beyond selling the actual ads face to face while using the vBulliten service?

On a sidenote, I want to eventually make some other sites as well, im working on my xhmtl, css, java and all that jazz right now. However I have decided that my area needs a local forum for local people. I feel like it is a relatively untapped market and I think I am most able to get people to register at the site.

Also how hard is it for someone totally new to set up a vBulliten forum? I've read a few books, but nothing that complex yet.

2. tryfuhl

tryfuhl New Member

Pretty much selling ads is the only way unless you charge for "VIP" portions of the site.