MIL started language training today...

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by willijdub, Feb 11, 2009.

1. willijdub

willijdub New Member

i get to look forward to 6 more months of Special Operations Language Training (SOLT). started yesterday. my target language= russian. i have zero experience with this language, but after today ive already learned the alphabet and a few phrases. :wiggle: my goal= pass the DLPT with a 2/2 so as to get paid. how realistic is this? i thinnk i stand a fair shot. (we were told only 15% of people get paid for russian coming out of SOLT) and mainly thats because its half the training time as the russian basic course at DLI.(47 weeks there as compared to our 24 weeks) but yea.... thats my update.
    any one else language qualified? speak a second language WELL?

Last edited: Feb 11, 2009
  2. kazimer

kazimer New Member

I speak Korean well, didnt want to make it a qualified language as I would be accountable for having to use it. Caveat: I was thet Division protocol officer in Korea for 2ID (2006-2007)
    If anyone found out my depth of knowledge in Korean then I would have been stuck translating for the CG or Chief of Staff at the lame dinner parties and events I planned :o

I studied abroad in Korea back in 2003 and went to a langauge immersion course while there

Trying to pick up either Dari or Pashto now....or relearn Mandarin Chinese and actually get paid for that one :o

goodluck with SOLT

3. c.a

c.a New Member

oh DLI.... tell Bennett Compagno i said hi

4. willijdub

willijdub New Member

:cool:

5. willijdub

willijdub New Member

:uh: no im at bragg... thus SOLT. i hope to get to go to the full course at some point... ive been told that if you do well here, once you get to the 4th psyop group theyll send you to DLI. and if not use it as a bargaining chip for reenlistment.... whats your language?

6. c.a

c.a New Member