WEB Started a new site

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Allanlambo, Nov 13, 2007.

1. Allanlambo

Allanlambo New Member

Looking to get new members and figure out how to get the word out about it. The name of the site is www.theshittalker.com . Also, how do you exchange banners, link ads etc. Im new to the internet stuff and this is just a pet project of mine for now. Any help greatly appreciated, aswell as feedback.

2. symptic

symptic I run companies

I'll be glad to help once I get back from the bank.

Is this the Allanlambo from LP?

3. Allanlambo

Allanlambo New Member

yes! Thats me!

4. Swerve

Swerve OT Supporter

TBH I think there are too many forums for a new site mate, try cutting down, making the site look busy will be difficult with so many. :)

5. symptic

symptic I run companies

I'm back.

So you're looking to grow a community around your forum based on shooting the shit, talking shit, etc.? How about monetization, is that a priority?

6. Allanlambo

Allanlambo New Member

Yes. As for monetization, of course, isnt it always? :naughty:

But for now, id like to grow it, and make it busy, and inviting. Looking for a younger, hipper sort of crowd. Ones not easily offended.

7. symptic

symptic I run companies

This thread should give some inspiration and insights as to what it takes to develop a forum. The entire premise of building a popular forum (not necessarily profitable) is to make sure each user associates a high level of value with the site. Only then will they return.

Be sure to check out DigitalPoint and SitePoint frequently to keep up to date on the general methods to promotion and advertising. Personally these sites get redundant after a short while and at that stage it becomes a matter of performing the tasks and ideas you've read about. Don't get caught up with the large number of amateurs and their philosophies. They're amateurs for a reason.