Start button non-clickable

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ssj4gogita4, Jun 9, 2008.

  1. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    It's only happened the past few days.

    I haven't downloaded anything, no viruses, no spyware. For some reason, after I wake up in the morning or whenever I leave the computer for a while, the start button is non-clickable. Everything else on the taskbar can be clicked (highlighted).


    Any reason for this?
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    What happens if you hit the Start key on your keyboard?
     
  3. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i would just throw in the winxp disc and have it repair the installation.
     
  4. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    nothing. Start menu does not appear.

    Vista.
     
  5. EkriirkE

    EkriirkE Zika Xenu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    14,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin & San Francisco, CA
    Ctrl+Esc?
     
  6. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    If I do that, it only works once. Then it won't work again unless I do ctrl+esc again. =\

    Is there something permanent?
     
  7. tyrionlannister

    tyrionlannister New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Ctrl-alt-backspace, it'll restart your X server. Then you can check the logs for errors. ;)
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    don't even joke around with that, troll.
     
  9. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    Nothing happened anyway when I did it :rofl:
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it's a linux shortcut.
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's, um...I think it's broken. Try a Windows Repair.
     
  12. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    I did but nothing was found.

    Could a virus be causing this?
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, a Windows Repair is where you boot up from the CD like you're going to reinstall Windows, but at the last minute it asks why the hell you're trying to reinstall over an existing installation, and it offers to repair it instead.

    Yes, a virus could be causing it. Do you have any antivirus software?
     
  14. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    non-clickable? both right or left click?
     
  15. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    Avast.

    I'll try the reboot CD when I get home tonight.

    Yes sir.
     
  16. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I've seen a similar problem in another forum.
    the way he fixed it:
    right click on start menu (or taskbar) > properties
    on Start menu tab, select 'Classic Start Menu', click Apply button, then select 'Start Menu', hit Apply button again.
    after that, Start Menu will be working again.

    but if you can't right click,.... :dunno:
     

Share This Page