spyware/trojan help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Chillbro Swaggins, Dec 8, 2008.

  1. Chillbro Swaggins

    Chillbro Swaggins New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    101,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    san francisco
    i haven't been allowed on a few websites because it tells me i have Trojan/Rostok-N so I downloaded malware bytes anti-malware and ran it and, even though it found and erased the trojan allegedly, i still get the same error message when i try and go on a few of these websites. did i not get rid of it all the way? is there something else i need to be running? i feel so noobish:o
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Can you run the scan again and see if it finds it again?

    Did you clear your internet cache?
     
  3. Chillbro Swaggins

    Chillbro Swaggins New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    101,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    san francisco
    yep, cleared my cache

    i ran it again and it found 6 trojan files, so i cleared them

    then i ran it again and it found 6 more.

    :mad:
     
  4. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    How many spyware/virus programs do you have? I'd run all of them and see if you can just get rid of whatever it can find.
     
  5. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I normally only use anti-malware, but I think I'd try another spware removal app and see what happens.
     
  6. pyehac

    pyehac if she's old enough to cross the street, she's old

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    run MBAM in safe mode
     
  7. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    You probably have some hidden malware that's simply rebuilding the files.

    I would run a rootkit scanner. Maybe Sophos, or System Internal's Rootkitrevealer.
     
  8. GreyRS

    GreyRS Your ignorance cramps my conversation.

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2000
    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    First, disable system restore. Then boot into safe mode and run malwarebytes again.
     
  9. Chillbro Swaggins

    Chillbro Swaggins New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    101,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    san francisco
    i disabled system restore and ran it in safe mode and im still getting trojans, fuck
     
  10. GreyRS

    GreyRS Your ignorance cramps my conversation.

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2000
    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Do you have an actual Anti-virus program? If so, do as I said before and then run it as a follow up. DO NOT come out of safe mode or turn system restore back on until you get rid of every thing.

    You could also run Spybot Search and Destroy. In all honesty, I like to use combofix and hijackthis, but both can do major damage if not handle correctly/ carefully. You can find lots of help at http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/
     

Share This Page