Spyware and Viruses are tearing up our office

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Gen5_EG, Apr 26, 2005.

  1. Gen5_EG

    Gen5_EG :)

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2001
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    We've recently had an outbreak of viruses at our office. We just have Symantec Client anti virus on our server. But this isn't working very well. I'm not an IT person, nor do I claim to know a lot about computers, but shouldn't the individual pc's have a form of protection as well? Like their own anti-virus too? And something that will rid spyware, etc.??? If so, any ideas on what to use? I know that on my pc in addition to the client anti-virus, i have AVG, spybot, ad-aware and zone alarm.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    get rid of zone alarm.

    use spybot s&d, adaware, and AVG on ALL your systems.
     
  3. Gen5_EG

    Gen5_EG :)

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2001
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    what's wrong with zone alarm?
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    piece of crap
     
  5. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    If you are running Norton Corporate, each workstation will have the client installed and is managed by the server.

    I wonder if your company has a hardware firewall?

    If anyone has Windows XP, I don't have any complaints about the XP firewall and for spyware, Microsoft's Anti-Spyware is pretty good.
     
  6. vwgeekdotcom

    vwgeekdotcom Silver Surfer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    I run norton corporate.
    Remember, you need to set the virus defs to update automatically, as well as deploy it to all the machines on the network.
    Even though it is installed on the server, it might not be deployed.
     
  7. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    get rid of windows.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    get the fuck out of this forum, troll.
     
  9. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :werd:
     
  10. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Install SpywareBlaster on the systems as well. It'll help keep the spyware from getting in while browsing using IE.
    The most you should get, from Ad-Aware and Spybot results are a few cookies. This doesn't include some of the dumba** people that will download crap not knowning or thinking or caring what crap it installs along with the crap they want to use and play with.
     
  11. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Why would he ditch ZoneAlarm in favor of no firewall at all? Or do you mean to replace it with something else?
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    sp2 > zonealarm.
     

Share This Page