Speedtest.net

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bowengoh, Aug 25, 2006.

  1. bowengoh

    bowengoh OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG] what's wrong with my upload and how can I fix it?
     
  2. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    what kind of connection do you have? Do you only pay for 1MB up?

    EDIT: oops, read that wrong. Are you running any torrent apps? This a work connection or home?
     
  3. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    If you are on a cable modem from home...you can't. They've usually got the upload throttled way back. You'd have to buy a corporate line to your home for higher speeds.
     
  4. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Clear your cache and try again, unless you're on a T3 or something.
     
  5. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    That's a pretty low upload. That's not cool.

    Are you DSL or Cable?

    This is mine from my wireless laptop.

    [​IMG]

    My download really sucks.. Stupid cable and being a shared connection.
     
  6. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    [​IMG]

    Meh. Cant complain when I pay 20 bucks a month. Wireless DSL, downloading torrent, and streaming. :dunno:
     
  7. bowengoh

    bowengoh OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used cable, and how do i clear my cache?
     
  8. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    depending on the cable company, some may only have 128 up. I think about a year ago or so was when Mediacom in Missouri went to 5mb down/256 up. I think my CenturyTel DSL advertises as 3mb down/ 384 up. I usually get pretty close to that.

    I know Mediacom told me as long as the speeds, with no other connections running, was within 10% of the advertised speeds, they wouldn't even send a tech out to check it.
     
  9. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    Yep, those speeds sound the same for cox. I think they also advertised a premium service that offered faster up speeds but it was only in the 380 something range, but it's been years since I saw that ad.

    To the OP: Clearing the cache won't up your speed significantly. Your cable provider is the one with the "governor" on your up channel. The only thing you can do is buy different service.
     
  10. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    The other thing is to check your cable modem. Maybe you a bad line to your cable modem. You can log into your cable modem and check those kind of things..

    I had that problem with my first cable modem. The download was great, but the upload sucked a lot. I logged into the modem and saw that the frequency on my upload side of things was bad.. Had the cable company come out and replace the line and correct the issue.
     
  11. bowengoh

    bowengoh OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im 99% sure now that my ISP has resctricted my bandwith because of my frequent downloads, and that I've recieved letters about downloading illegal materials. Is there a way to get around this?
     
  12. Avatar Viper

    Avatar Viper Guest

  13. Boogieman117

    Boogieman117 PSN: Boogieman117

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    17,554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    20678/20657 area
    Cliffs? Screenshots?
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    stop being a douche-canoe and don't download illegal materials?
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    do NOT use this.
     

Share This Page