A&P Speaking of flashes (nikon commander mode)...

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by jshively, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. jshively

    jshively OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    99,175
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Indiana
    After watching OneLight I was trying to figure this out but I do not know if/how it can be done.

    Is there a way to switch the flashes to manual while in commander mode or will I need to upgrade to a pocketwizard solution?

    I have both a SB900 and SB600.
     
  2. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    commander works great in manual mode. you would change it in the back of the camera, where you initially set the camera to act as the controller.

    You can set the power from there, as well as choose each flashes bank and change each one independently.
     
  3. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,417
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Houston
    I use the SU800 only in manual mode, same with the camera settings. Works great.
     
  4. jshively

    jshively OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    99,175
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Indiana
    So it is done on the camera not on the flashes? That is where I was getting confused because I kept staring at the flashes.

    So basically it is the +3 to -3 adjustments?
     
  5. jshively

    jshively OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    99,175
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ahhh.....I think I see where it is. Instead of TTL in the commander group I change that to M.

    Not in front of my camera but have been googling.
     
  6. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    yup. you got it.
     
  7. jshively

    jshively OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    99,175
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Indiana
    :bigthumb::bigthumb::bigthumb:

    Thank you for your help!
     
  8. jshively

    jshively OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    99,175
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Indiana
    Oh yeah has anyone had problems using commander with a softbox? I have Amazong gift certificates to burn and this is something I wanted to play with.

    Was thinking just the small Westcott (I think it is the 24 inch).
     
  9. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    I just make sure to leave the back end of the flash with the sensor sticking out of the softbox or umbrella. works great.

    I prefer shoot through umbrellas, but that's just me.
     
  10. jshively

    jshively OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    99,175
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Indiana
    I have a couple umbrellas and I was just going to pick up a softbox to play with for a week. If I did not notice that much of a drastic difference I would just return it.

    Of course I am probably doing what I normally do which is buy a ton of shit without not really knowing what I need or if I can make it work with what I have.
     
  11. johan

    johan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sahasrara; magnetic violet infinite
    SU-800 is AWESOME for indoor work. So convenient....!

    If I could have that user interface with pw range...heaven.
     
  12. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    :werd:
     

Share This Page