Spaces

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by urban ape, Oct 9, 2008.

  1. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    you know, i used to think i'd never use spaces. i thought it was a waste of time and annoying to have things scattered everywhere. recently, i decided just to give it a shot and i am impressed. i set it up to have 9 spaces and i just throw one program in each space on full screen with the dock hidden. it is like i added 5000 square feet to my desktop. i cycle through them using apple+arrow and its just become effortless and automatic.

    using a 15" mbp


    cliffs: spaces :bowdown:
     
  2. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    :werd: I thought it was silly and never used it for till ~ July. Now I love it. I use 3 as well. 1 for iTunes, 1 for RealVNC, and one for everything else. Who needs multi-monitors :p
     
  3. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    Spaces is awesome, I have 4 :bowdown:
     
  4. Ronin

    Ronin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    i need to take advantage of this
     
  5. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried using it once but couldn't get into it. Who needs it when there's Expose? Flick of the finger/wrist and I get to choose the app/window I want.
     
  6. mds2004

    mds2004 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    I was the same way and thought it was retarded. A few months later I tried it again and now cannot be without it. It is nice to not be cluttered up. One for internet, one for itunes, one for word, and I like one for transmission and adium.
     
  7. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I don't use it :o
     
  8. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    there are a lot of ways to lope the mule

    apple tab
    different expose commands
    spaces etc

    all accomplish roughly the same thing, i just like running all the programs full screen and being able to compartmentalize them in my head like which screen has what on it.
     
  9. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,737
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    vista on one, xp on another space, remote desktop to my server on another space, and firefox on the last space :bowdown:
     
  10. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    that's a lotta windows :hsugh:
     
  11. mymail5082

    mymail5082 Banned

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Messages:
    30,306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
    love that shit. keep itunes up on space 3. space 2 is for xp, space 4 for ripping/encoding shit. use space 1 for web/mail type shit.
     
  12. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never used it either, gonna have to give it a shot.
     
  13. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,737
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    yeah, i have to troubleshoot vista and xp at work all day. also outlook 2007 and window vista mail. helps having it all on on my macbook so i can just switch to the space and troubleshoot

    i work for a cable company. people are retarded with it comes to cable internet and setting up outlook
     
  14. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    i believe it :o
     
  15. _Trev_

    _Trev_ Ya gotta pay the troll toll... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    47,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    I wish I could set an application to be active on a certain monitor on all spaces. I like to set up my MBP's internal monitor as a video watching app for slingplayer/VLC while I'm doing stuff, and switching between spaces makes the video go away because each space incorporates two windows
     
  16. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    How do I set it up so a certain program always opens on a set space? I have RDC set to space 2 in the Sys Pref however if I open it in space 1 it stays in space one.
     
  17. JCrev

    JCrev Where is your god now? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,852
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    You can do this. In the spaces & expose preferences add vlc and sling player in the application assignments area and set them to show on "Every Space".
     
  18. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    :cool:
     

Share This Page