Sound problems in Farcry w/ Audigy

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by GuOD, Jan 13, 2005.

  1. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    Everything is working fine with the new card except for Farcry. The problem is that certain types of sounds are not playing. For instance when I throw grenades/rocks or when enemies shoot it's completely silent. Does anyone know what would cause this? My firing and gun switching still makes sound
     
  2. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    check your Creative Surround Mixer, i've had this happen for some games when i leave the mixer on diff EQ settings, for best results, set it to no effects before playing.
     
  3. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    I have never turned effects on. It is still off.
     
  4. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    have you updated your drivers?
     
  5. R-Type

    R-Type The Bydo Empire must die!

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    1. make sure the slider in dxdiag is set to 'full acceleration' on the 'sound' tab. if it is already, then try dropping it back a notch and try the game again. keep doing so until it works. If you get down to 'none', then put it back to full as this isn't the problem. If it DOES start working somewhere along the way, then it's most certainly bad/old drivers.
    2. make sure you have the latest drivers for your soundcard
    3. make sure you have the right speaker configuration selected for your audio equipment config. If your card is set for 5.1 and you are only using a stereo 2speaker system, you'll only hear an incomplete soundfield.
    4. make sure you have the latest revision of farcry. (1.3?)
    5. make sure all EQ effects (including CMSS and the others) are turned off.

    I play farcry with an audigy (classic sb00060) and I have had no problems with it at all.
     
  6. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    I've played around with it a bit and unchecking EAX 2.0 has worked but it only works sometimes. I have the newest drivers from Creative. I thought audigy supports EAX 4.0 so I'm assuming it supports 2.0 as well?

    I tried running 3dmark03 and for the sound tests no sound comes out. Also when I press more info, the audigy shows up and it says HD AUDIO support : false
    I think that's wrong??

    I just adjusted my dxdiag and set it to basic accel and it works now. What can I do to fix it so I can put it back to full accel?
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2005
  7. R-Type

    R-Type The Bydo Empire must die!

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    What audigy model do you have?
     
  8. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    Audigy 2 ZS.

    I downloaded the newest drivers, and apparently there aren't anymore
     
  9. R-Type

    R-Type The Bydo Empire must die!

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    under the 'driver' tab in device manager for the audigy, what revision do you have?
    for example, mine is 5.12.1.444 and is dated 6/23/2004 (this may or may not be the latest).
     
  10. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    I tried using the old drivers that came with it but it didn't work.

    I didn't check the version but it was dated 10/18/04.
     
  11. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    I used the middle drivers from April 2004 and it is working now. Sort of stupid that the newest drivers were not working properly but these ones do.
     
  12. R-Type

    R-Type The Bydo Empire must die!

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    bizarre, though knowing creative's reputation with drivers, not very surprising. I assume you have the latest version of farcry?
     
  13. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    yes I do.
     
  14. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    Logitech z560 is only 4 speakers + subwoofer. If I set all my settings to 5.1 surround sound will I lose a lot of sound by not having the center channel? If I don't set it to 5.1 I can't use surround sound in some games.
     

Share This Page