sound card

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ChaosTheory, Jan 13, 2005.

  1. ChaosTheory

    ChaosTheory New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    i have a new sound card i need to install since my old one no longer works, but i dont really know how to install it. ive had it for a few months and have been without sound, because i dont feel like having a tech do it for me adn have to pay him. it is a sound blaster live, and i use a win xp hp pavilion. so i beleive the old sound card is built in and cant be removed. it came with a cord to plug in but i dont know where it goes, since there are a few places it can connect. ive already installed the software, but it still doesnt work. so if anybody could help me install it, it would help alot. i can take pictures of the inside of my comp if its needed and give more info when i get home. so if you need it let me know.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you plug it into a pci slot (it only fits where it's supposed to go) and you install the drivers.
     
  3. Robb

    Robb Guest

    Okay, just did this not long ago. Heres what you will do:
    -Power off computer, unplug cord
    -Open Case
    -Locate Empty Pci slot(Long beige colored slot that faces on lower lefthand side of motherboard)
    -Remove Pci slot cover on case(there will be 1 screw and a little plate that covers the opening on the back of the computer, remove the little metal piece.
    -Put sound card int he open pci slot and press firmly to seat it.
    -there should be a place to put the screw back in
    -place cover back on case
    -plug in speakers, mic. etc.
    -boot up
    -might have to disable onboard sound in bios
    -enjoy
     
  4. ChaosTheory

    ChaosTheory New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    i already had the sound card in the pci slot like how its supposed to be, but there is a cord that plugs into it and i have it plugged into the sound card and a part of the comp. the instructions are pretty much crap so i believe its supposed to be plugged in. there is two slots i believe taht the cord can fit into. when i first got the card a few months ago i installed everything and i believe the drivers are installed. it said something about the bios but i dont know how to get into it and what to do. heres the pics of the card and wire.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    do *NOT* plug in the grey cord. Remove it.

    It was used a long time ago for cd audio, but XP supports digital audio over the ribbon cable.
     
  6. ChaosTheory

    ChaosTheory New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    alright, so i believe all i have to do is the thing in BIOS because everything else i believe i already did
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you almost never have to disable the card in bios.
     
  8. ChaosTheory

    ChaosTheory New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    how do i enable the new card, through device manager?
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no.... just install the drivers.

    take a screen cap of your device manager so I can see that it's installed properly
     
  10. ChaosTheory

    ChaosTheory New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    [​IMG]

    is that what you need to see?
    i tried using the creative diagnostics, to tell me whats wrong and this is what i got

    [​IMG]

    i tired using the fix button but nothing happened, so i restarted my comp because i also couldnt get the device manager, but it still wont let me use the fix button
     
  11. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    i guess it wouldn't hurt to try to disable your AC97 in the bios, hit F1 a shit ton at the big blue HP screen, and find where it says AC97 and it should be default to auto, set it to disable.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    i don't think you have to disable it in bios. Check your "Sounds" control panel item, and make sure that it's set to use the Creative.
     
  13. andrew096

    andrew096 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pbf eh?
     
  14. ChaosTheory

    ChaosTheory New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    ya, who are you^

    i looked in bios and i didnt see anything sound related, and nothing on the AC97' audio, i didnt see it in the sound options either, where else could it be?
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    What is listed in this drop-down box?

    [​IMG]
     
  16. ChaosTheory

    ChaosTheory New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    [​IMG]



    i cant click to adjust any of the settings in the sound menu except in the hardware folder
     
  17. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    okay, you definitely don't have the card installed properly.

    i would completely remove the card, turn the computer on, turn it off, insert the card into a new slot, turn the computer on, install fresh drivers from www.soundblaster.com.

    If that doesn't work, you need to consider that your windows install is possibly borked, or the card is possibly defective.
     
  18. andrew096

    andrew096 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Number One N00b.
     
  19. ChaosTheory

    ChaosTheory New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    o alright, unfortunately rorys on this site as well, lol
     
  20. andrew096

    andrew096 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's how I found it =/
     

Share This Page