Something wrong with my Onkyo 602/Athena Mica6 setup?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Gavin, Jun 28, 2005.

  1. Gavin

    Gavin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Messages:
    24,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Hi guys, I went out and got myself a refurbished Onkyo602 receiver and Athena Micra6 speakers as recommended by several members here after doing a few searches. My problem is that I have the receiver and speakers setup in my room(not in any configuration, just all on a table) and it just doesn't seem to get very loud. The max volume on the receiver is 99 and I have to turn it up to 65 just to get to a decent listening level. Getting it closer to 80 will give me a lot of noise. All I know is that I have a very old Sony HTiB setup that gets a lot louder than this at half volume.

    Is this normal? Is there something wrong with the receiver or is there something I'm supposed to do? This is my first receiver so I'm pretty new to this stuff.
     
  2. amill94

    amill94 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    31,076
    Likes Received:
    318
    There might be a problem with the amplifier of the receiver. One thing you can do is go into the receiver menu and turn up the db gain for each speaker. That should help a little. Realistically the amp should be putting out louder levels than what it currently is. I'd exchange it if possible.
     
  3. edrox

    edrox A good man, and thorough

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    are you running just the two speakers? Is the receiver in a surround mode, or just stereo?
     
  4. Gavin

    Gavin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Messages:
    24,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I think I figured it out. I didn't run the auto setup with the mic and wasn't using the digital coax from the DVD player. It sounds like it should now.

    All I have to do is just figure out why this s-video cable is giving me a black & white picture.
     
  5. amill94

    amill94 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    31,076
    Likes Received:
    318
    Usually its a bad cable becuase one of the pins is broken. I've had that happen with an S-vid cable before.
     
  6. Gavin

    Gavin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Messages:
    24,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Yea, you were right. One of the pins was bent somehow, but I managed to bend it back and got it to work. Thanks. :)
     

Share This Page