Something i've been curious about with windows xp...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Exiled, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. Exiled

    Exiled New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does over 2 gigs of ram become worthless to use? I keep hearing this, I have 2 gigs but shit, i'd put more in if it meant everything would run that much better
     
  2. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    If you are running the 32bit version than Windows won't recognize above around 3.5GB. If you are running the 64bit version on the other hand, you can expand up quite a bit more.
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depends on what you're running. I have servers with 16GB of RAM and they chug badly when I load them down, but my computer at home has 2GB and it's fine.
     
  4. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    If you're currently not experiencing slow down due to virtual memory swapping, then you haven't fully utilized what you have, and adding more memory won't make a difference.
     
  5. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    unless you're running apps that are very RAM intensive 2GB is enough in XP
     

Share This Page