Something is wrong with my internet...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ruination, Jun 5, 2005.

  1. Ruination

    Ruination New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    22,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    For some reason, I can no longer view pages that require JavaScript and I can't download service packs due to "my current security settings." This all happened over night, and I have no idea what happened. My Dad suggested that I re-install IE, however, I can't download any other browsers to use in the meantime.

    Any ideas on what might be going on? Thanks!
     
  2. Ruination

    Ruination New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    22,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Anything? :hs:
     
  3. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Java now has to be downloaded separately from Sun.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    JAVA IS NOT JAVASCRIPT

    :rolleyes:
     
  5. stoliohranj

    stoliohranj beautiful fucking tits man

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    blitzburgh
    why don't you say something constructive for a change asshole
     
  6. Ruination

    Ruination New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    22,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ok, I got it figured out, thanks anyway :wavey:
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    that was fucking constructive. Why don't you read the post above me...
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    No shit.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    5Gen, you're a fucking dumbshit. Read the first post where he says he's having a problem with javaSCRIPT... you then reply that he needs to download JAVA from sun.com

    you are a fucking dumbass.
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    First, please don't call people names. It makes your otherwise helpful advice look like it's coming from a 13 year old (yes I know, you're not 13). I really don't know why you act the way you do, but I would seriously get some help, we are not here for you to dump on, that's what shrinks are paid for.

    Secondly, there's a lot of confusion between the two and although I could have asked to clarify if he knew what the difference was, I assumed he didn't. Now unless someone goes into the security settings and changes the settings, or are mandated by group policies (which I assumed didn't happen since if one was to turn of JS within the security options it would be pretty obvious how to fix it), I'm not sure how JS could all of a sudden stop working.

    So based on the assumption that he was talking about Java, I suggested a Java re-installation. But your right, I really should have explained that to begin with to avoid confusion. Thankfully, your post clarified the difference and offered him a solution just in case he really was having a problem with JS.
     
  11. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,918
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    This thread is an embarassment to offtopic.
     
  12. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Fixed...
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    go read the thread and determine who was right... yea, it was me :ugh:
     
  14. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Funny thing actually, the only thing you said was that Java != JS, which wasn't the question at hand. In your strive to pad your ego, you never actually helped anyone.
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I told him esentially not to install java because that wouldn't fix his problem... which is what you had implied.
     
  16. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    :rofl: Now you're just talking yourself in circles. How does NOT doing anything help? If you had pointed out some of things I just said above about security settings then sure, it might have been helpful.
     
  17. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    telling someone to NOT do something that will not help, and possibly hurt them, is benefitial...

    your post, on the other hand, was not helpful.
     
  18. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    It had more potential to be helpful than your gem and harm? Really? Re-installing a component that is critical for running Java applets = good chance of fucking things up? If my assumption was correct, there would have been a good chance that it would have solved the problem.

    I mean I'm stil trying to get my head around this thread actually: http://forums.offtopic.com/showthread.php?t=1817990. I've never run across a wireless router that doesn't treat its wired and wireless security differently but hey, maybe you have. I've also never heard of a cable/telephone company use a private IP to hand out to its remote modems. Nor have I heard of using compression tools helping to reduce MP3's, unless you're a John Cage fan. But instead of assuming your a dumbass, I give you the benefit of the doubt. Please do the same.
     
  19. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    What, are we in fourth grade? I don't care who was right or wrong...

    The fact is that you're an asshole in every post you make thinking you are the best since you always feel the need to brag about how much you know and how many machines you've worked on/built. No one cares... Deal with it.

    Show me ONE post where you think you have the right to call someone a fucking dumbass... Just one and I'll let it go.
     
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    SMC routers have worked this way. Older linksys routers did. Netgears to this day still do.

    You haven't ever worked with a cable modem, then, have you? They *ALL* get private IP's (usually a class A 10.x.x.x) to talk with the CMTS. And some ISPs only give you a private IP. However, most north american ISPs have switched to handing out public IPs IN ADDITION to the private IP. Nothing changes the private IP... That's always been there, and still is.

    I told him there's no way he'd get them down to 1mb but that zip/rar/tar.gz/.bz2 would get him SOME extra space -- which is true.

    I don't see why you have your panties in a bunch. You said reinstall java, and I pointed out that java is not javascript.
     
  21. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Not the netgear one I have. It clearly states in the manual it's for wireless only. In fact, it states if you screw up the entry, the only way to gain access again is thru resetting it or thru wired. What model are you using?

    I'm not sure what you're getting at actually. You said your cable modem is 192.168.1.1. That seems unlikely based on my experience and just what you said now.

    As many people have already said, it's not what you are saying, it's how you say it. If you had gone on to explain possible solutions to his problem, I probably wouldn't have said anything to be honest. Next time you feel you need to correct someone, think about how you would say that if they were standing right there and were twice as big as you.
     
  22. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I think it's the 624r... it's the 108mbps wireless one, first rev.

    what modem do you have? If you have a surfboard or an RCA, then try to go to 192.168.1.1 without a router... you will probably see some cool stuff.
     
  23. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Without a router, I get a public IP. With a public IP, I can't route to a Private IP. If I change to a private IP that is routable, I get nothing and is well beyond useless.

    And your model says the same thing that mine does - wireless MAC filtering.
     
  24. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    What modem do you have? Do I need to take screencaps?
     
  25. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I don't doubt you J, mine doesn't that's all. Maybe you have an older version of it, I don't know why a cable company would allow that to be open.

    But yeah - now that you mention it, screenshot it cuz now I am curious to what I'm missing! :rofl:
     

Share This Page