Someone school me on setting up high-speed internet at my home

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BoostedBoogie, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. I'm not computer illiterate, but I haven't really set up my own high-speed internet. All of that was done by the family, but since I'm moving into my own place, I'd like to get it set up myself. I plan to go with Cox's 1.5mbps plan which is like $24/mo. I think it said there was a $50 fee besides the $24/mo plan, and I'm going the route in setting it up myself rather than by a professional.

    So what else would I have to do besides buying the modem?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    if you're only getting a 1.5Mbps for $25 service, do *NOT* get cable. At the 1.5Mbps for $25 pricepoint you can NOT beat DSL. Get a good DSL modem/router combo, or use a DSL modem in "bridge" mode with a decent 3rd-party router (such as the Linksys WRT54Gv4 w/DD:WRT firmware)
     
  3. I was considering DSL but after doing a search for what DSL services are offered in my area, all I had to choose from was Road Runner (512kbps max for $24) and DSL Extreme (512kbps for $28).
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    what fucked up area do you live in? That's some shitty offerings. What's your area code and prefix? I'll do a LERG lookup tomorrow in the office.
     
  5. Believe it or not I live in San Diego, CA. 619-216

    I might've gone to a lookup site that looks up only certain DSL services :dunno:
     
  6. 1999TL

    1999TL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    LOL. I just laughed when I read your post. I was thinking the same thing. He's off if he's in San Diego. Depends how far you live from the CO. Check dslreports.com
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I have access to complete LERG datasets at work. Any telco in the country and I can get basically any technical info from their switches :naughty:

    I'll let you know what I find.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    OCN: 9740
    Name: PACIFIC BELL
    Abbr. Name: PACIFIC BELL
    Category: RBOC State: CA over_all_ocn: 9740
    Contact Information:
    Name: ADMIN CODE - PB Phone: 925-823-2880
    Company: PACIFIC BELL
    Address: 2600 CAMINO RAMON
    SAN RAMON , CA 94583
    Mailstop info: 1S900S

    Switch Address:
    1090 APACHE DR
    CHULA VISTA , CA 91910



    Now for the kicker.... Your CO has limited ADSL capabilities. If you want SDSL, no probs... they can do that. But if you want ADSL, I don't think that's gonna be easy. Covad, MPower, and XO all claim to have ADSL in that CO, but we would need to know your loop length to determine if they can even service you. Do you currently have phone svc? With a phone# and address we can approximate loop length.
     
  9. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    I would really appreciate a similar lookup if you're feeling generous.

    When I moved in, best I could get due to CO distance was 384/128.

    Living in 317-824 :x:

    I miss my VZW access to this kind of info.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I need an address and line # (last 4 of ph#) to determine loop length and to get a prequal on DSL speeds (MEDR/AIDR).

    you can PM me if you want it private.
     
  11. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sub and PM inc now.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you can estimate your loop length (not super acurate, but it's a ballpark) using google maps from your switch address:
    3710 W 86TH ST
    INDIANAPOLIS , IN 46268


    But that central office *is* equipped to provide up to 6Mbps DSL service at this time. They also appear to be planning ADSL2 deployment, so that may increase to 24Mbps service available (although loop length would have to be quite low <6k to get that).

    At this point they facility is capable of fast speeds, but your loop length and awg are going to limit you.
     
  13. I have no idea what the difference is between adsl and sdsl. No phone service yet, currently using my cell phone for the time being. I'm not even sure if I want to setup a phone at the house. I use my cell phone all the time anyway for all my calls. :dunno:
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    ADSL = asymmetrical (downstream is faster than upstream) -- Typical for residential DSL implementations.
    SDSL = symmetrical (downstream and upstream are same speed) -- Typical for small bus DSL implementations. More expensive.
     

Share This Page