A&P Someone asked me to shoot their wedding

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by SkyAce2004, Jul 10, 2007.

1. SkyAce2004

SkyAce2004 New Member

Ahh! The girl Olivia is starting to plan her wedding. She was talking it over with her future husband and they want me to be the wedding photographer. At first I was like :cool: but now im :noes:. I kinda did my cousins wedding, but it was pretty difficult doing photos and being a groomsman at the same time. I told her that I am not a pro, and I dont have any practice shooting indoors and such with low lighting. She didnt seem to care and was gunna get back to me when she has a set date.

Now, my uncle is a pro photog, and has been doing weddings for many many years. I kinda shadowed with him during my cousins wedding and he gave me some pointers. Im gunna give him a call and see if i can shadow him for his next weddings.

Should I do this? and if so, how much should I charge? I dont know anything about doing prints and all that wedding BS, but im sure I could send away for them...

2. wisie

wisie New Member

Sweet sounds a good opportunity if you can try do some experience work with your uncle beforehand. What are you shooting with? Got any fast lenses?

3. Matt-AWD

Matt-AWD Active Member

Ideally, you'd have gone with a pro enough as an assistant/backup shooter to feel comfortable doing it by yourself, but if you must...

Don't do your first wedding without an assistant, preferrably one who knows his or her way around a camera to be a backup shooter. You don't want to worry about fiddling around with extra gear until you're completely comfortable getting all the required shots.