Some simple MAC tasks that I don't know how to do

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Alt+F4, Aug 31, 2005.

  1. Alt+F4

    Alt+F4 official OT hockey stud

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Just inherited two schools with MACs dotting the landscape. I have one old OS9 piece that has like two logins for a user to get on - neither of the logins are people that work here anymore. The computer isn't on a domain, and I'd like to remove all logins. How is this done?

    And another OS9 machine wants to look for the At Ease server when booting up. We don't have one and I want to stop it from doing that. Can I?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    Why don't you just wipe out the systems?
     
  3. Alt+F4

    Alt+F4 official OT hockey stud

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    How do you do that?
     
  4. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    :bowrofl: :bowrofl: :bowrofl: :bowrofl: @ At Ease.... I haven't heard that name dropped in AGES :rofl: :coolugh:

    that's some hardcore system 7 shit being thrown down
     
  5. Alt+F4

    Alt+F4 official OT hockey stud

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yeah tell me about it...so I guess I need to learn how to reformat a Mac. What do I need to do?
     
  6. Alt+F4

    Alt+F4 official OT hockey stud

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Oh, and shit, I'm sorry...these are iMACs running OS 8.6, not 9.
     
  7. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you still have the system disk? if so, put it in, restart the computer while holding down the C button. then follow the steps to erase and install.
     
  8. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Try booting up with the shift key held down. On pre MacOS X systems that would disable 'extensions' at startup and probably bypass the At Ease stuff.
     
  9. dmora

    dmora Guest

    Boot on CD, and nuke it.
     
  10. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    He could just d/l an OS/9 torrent & burn it to CD and do that if he doesn't have one. I'm sure Apple won't care since they give it away for free with every version of OSX.
     
  11. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    Apple isnt "giving it away for free". OS 9 is included in OS X to provide backwards compatablity for software written for OS 9.
     
  12. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Classic doesn't come wtih certain machines anymore nor is it included on the Tiger DVD
     
  13. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    I think it's buried in there. I was exploring the DVD one time and thought I saw it.

    As for giving it away for free...when OSX first came out there was a moment when you could walk into a CompUSA and, for free, pick up this package that had an OSX update CD and a CD of OS/9. Totally free.

    I still have it even.
     

Share This Page