Some Room Set-up Questions

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Dr. Josh, Dec 15, 2003.

1. Dr. Josh

Dr. Josh it's ok - i'm a doctor OT Supporter

I was over my friend's house yesterday..and he has this kickass sound system in his room. I didn't ask him about it, and now I'm looking to get a nice sound system for my room. I don't even know where to start. Any advice for an audio newbie here would be greatly appreciated.

EDIT- I didn't really make this clear, but I guess I'm looking for the entire system. Speakers, sub (if needed), everything like that. Everything needed for it to work (cables etc).

Here's what I'm looking for (I guess):

1) Something that's able to play CDs (both real CDs and burned cds) and the radio (not necessary, just a bonus if it can)

2) Something that has some power to it. I mean I want to be able to feel it. Now I don't mean loud annoying bass, I mean bass that gives the music some
    "power". Know what I mean?

3) Price is kind of an issue but not really. Whatever you think will fit my list of wants.

That's about it. Any other tips would be appreciated. Thanks for any help.

Last edited: Dec 15, 2003
  2. Dr. Josh

3. Leb_CRX

Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

are you going to be watching movies at all? your best bet i'd say is a home-threate in a box if you are, and care about shit like Dolby digital and whatnot...

if not just get an amp/receiver, and hookup some speakers with a CDlpayer, and a radio componant...your good to go, I had that setup for a whil ebefore I got my kenwood system

4. Mycophiles

Mycophiles OT Supporter

Also the size of the room might be worth knowing if your on a budget. I'm no guru like 90% of the others in this forum, but the size and price of the speaker has some bearing on the size of the room your putting them into.