Some Networking Help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ZeKs, Jul 15, 2003.

  1. ZeKs

    ZeKs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ok I'm a noob when it comes to what I would need in order to hook up 2 pc's with my DSL line. So I was wondering if maybe you can tell me what I need. What I do know is that I want to set them up with a wireless connection. So can anyone help me? :bigthumb:
     
  2. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    the EASYEST way is to go buy a 4 - 8 port Router. Simply plug the modem into the router along with the PC's. You might have to configure the router a little bit but for the most part that's all ya really need to do.



    ps. This is not the ONLY way just what I feel is the easyest way.
     
  3. ZeKs

    ZeKs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  4. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    ahh I didn't noticed you wanted wireless.

    That's a pretty nice wireless router you posted. All you would need is wireless cards (802.11b or compatable) in each PC. If you don't want one of them to be wireless the router still has some ports so you can hardwire either one.

    The set up is still pretty much the same as I said before.
     
  5. ZeKs

    ZeKs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    :cool:

    That was going to be my next question, am I able to hardwire 1 pc and just let the other pc be wireless..

    Now for the cards, it doesn't make a difference on which i choose from these 2 correct?

    http://www.linksys.com/products/product.asp?grid=33&scid=36&prid=158

    http://www.linksys.com/products/product.asp?grid=33&scid=36&prid=196

    First of all, the one w/o the antenna is cheaper, but i also dont want the one w/ an antenna cause it would be inconvinient for me :hs:

    PS.

    Also I can have either computer on, without have the one on so i can connect right?

    thx for all you help :bigthumb:
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2003
  6. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Either one will work.

    You can wire one and let the other be wireless, and yes you can use each computer independent of the other one.
     
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    We just set up my aunt's wireless/wired network... It's very cool, I want to do it at home now :bigthumb:
     
  8. ZeKs

    ZeKs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Woot woot thanks guys..

    I figure that the wireless router doesn't come with 1 wireless card right?
     
  9. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley

    A lot of places sell bundles (router + 2 wireless cards). Keep your eyes open for one of those deals. They are usually a good steal.
     
  10. ZeKs

    ZeKs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    :eek3:

    Are these place like best buy, circuit city, office max, office depot, fry's, compusa, etc? cause every sunday i get their paper and look for deals :)
     
  11. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    yea
     

Share This Page