some computer questions.. advanced!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Dos Equis4, May 31, 2003.

  1. Dos Equis4

    Dos Equis4 nebraska democrat (oxymoron?)

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    13,968
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Essentially, here is my problem..

    i use TSweb via this site: http://bb.plocmstart.com/TSWeb/default.htm

    yesterday evening @ work i was able to access it under 256 colors, and it ran great, no themes no nothing, my XP box which i remote into ran fine. the one thing i changed between then was changing the listening port on my 2003 server box, which is running nothing ( i am learning on it.. ) but is setup to receive TS connections.

    tonight when i go to log in to the XP box, it shows up basically like it would if i was at home logging into it, my theme shows up, all the colors, etc.. while this isn't an issue for speed, i just wonder what setting made the change? granted i do like it in 256, seems faster..
    also, with that specific TSweb site, why am i not able to log into my 2003 server box which has the correct ports forwarded to each specific ports... so when i go to the above webpage, i type in
    my IP:and then the port that its set to connect to..

    any idears?
     
  2. Dos Equis4

    Dos Equis4 nebraska democrat (oxymoron?)

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    13,968
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska
    no love :wtc:
     
  3. Dos Equis4

    Dos Equis4 nebraska democrat (oxymoron?)

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    13,968
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska
  4. thurman15

    thurman15 Blessed screaming Jesus on a whole-wheat goddamn c

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2001
    Messages:
    22,059
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    Cashishaft sucks!
     
  5. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,614
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Maybe the people that run that site changed some things in the applet.

    The settings that you mentioned are all client side, so I don't think you would be able to change them on the server side.
     
  6. Scud

    Scud I'm an aquired taste.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Might want to put this in the computer forum too... it'll get booted off the front page quick.
     
  7. Cashishift

    Cashishift Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2000
    Messages:
    48,734
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    :rolleyes:

    and thurman.. :love:
     
  8. Cashishift

    Cashishift Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2000
    Messages:
    48,734
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    :rofl:

    wanna host that for me?

    so we can put it back up?
     
  9. sgnn7

    sgnn7 pos the neg hole

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    0
    i would sugguest running TightVNC....freeware and can do jpg compression on the fly. Windows TS can kiss my ASS!
     
  10. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,614
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    :rofl: The speed of RDP > AnyVNC


    VNC lags on my 100Mb LAN connection. :rofl: :rofl:
     
  11. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,614
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    Didn't mean to be this rude in C&P, this thread was in OT when I posted that.

    But the truth remains so I am not deleting it. :big grin:
     
  12. worth

    worth Guest

    It does, but VNC is still better in some cases. For example, I need to access my home computer from a Solaris computer, so Windows TS would obviously not work.
     

Share This Page