Solaris: graphing sar data?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by trouphaz, Jun 10, 2008.

  1. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have any of you used any tools to graph sar data? I need to review some data from this past Saturday and there is just too much to just read through the text. I've looked online and saw there were a bunch of different options. Have any of you used and of these or come up with another solution?
     
  2. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,458
    Likes Received:
    12
    we use homegrown stuff w/ rrdtool to generate graphs from sar data.

    here's a perl script that i googled up

    http://www.trickytools.com/php/sar2rrd.php

    i personally use gnuplot to graph all my veritas stats.
     
  3. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, that was one of the ones i came across. i'm going to see if i can put this sar data on another machine so i don't have to install rrdtool and its dependencies on our production machine.
     
  4. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    EDIT: ignore that post. i'm an idiot. i was using the binary sar data files under /var/adm/sa/sa## instead of the text output from the sar command.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2008
  5. Mike99TA

    Mike99TA I don't have anything clever to put here right now

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    4,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Not sure why its showing that at line 700, but basically its reading in the sar file and expecting a header that says "Linux" or "SunOS" and if it doesn't find either of those it dies.

    It should have single quotes after the word inside, with what it DID find in them. Are you getting that?

    Edit: here is the line where it dies:

    die("Unknown Operating System inside '$curdate'\n");

    $curdate should hold an OS string plus what looks like maybe a kernel or OS version after that.

    Edit2: After reading their regular expressions whoever wrote that script is a horrible perl coder.

    But still, curious if you got any more output - or you can check one of your sar files and see if one of the first lines has an OS.
     
  6. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0

    lol, read my edited post. i wasn't using sar output. i was using the sar binary files.
     
  7. Mike99TA

    Mike99TA I don't have anything clever to put here right now

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    4,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    heh, its almost always the simple stuff :big grin:
     

Share This Page