Soft Firewall

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by .:JustaDrunk:., Apr 17, 2007.

  1. .:JustaDrunk:.

    .:JustaDrunk:. \/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central, PA
    I need a PC Firewall, free would be prefered.

    I don't like Zone Alarm, I have a copy of ISA '06 but last time I used that it was a pain in the ass. Open Port or Close Port, it doesn't have to be any more complicated than that.

    What does everyone else use?
     
  2. RiSk

    RiSk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6,564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irving, Texas
    Iptables :p
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    DD::WRT

    (hey, it's software)
     
  4. .:JustaDrunk:.

    .:JustaDrunk:. \/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central, PA
    thats not an option :hsugh:
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm just curious. What don't you like about Zonealarm?
     
  6. .:JustaDrunk:.

    .:JustaDrunk:. \/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central, PA
    Thanks, although this doesn't help me for my situation, it does remind me that I might be able to get access to my isp's router and lock it down from there.

    What benefits are there to using that firmware on a Linksys. I have one laying around and I saw that open firmware was available, but never read up on it.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you NEED to run it. It's so fucking awsome. It adds many many features, and it's more stable, to boot.

    Put your modem in "bridge" mode and run a WRT54Gv4 behind it with DD::WRT. You will not regret it.
     
  8. gnp

    gnp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    idk, i installed and configured isa for my company and it is a learning curve. It took me about 2 days to learn it and get it working properly (we have a lot of servers and a lot of weird shit that has to be what it is to keep certain legacy apps working). I prefer ipchains, i think isa's gui (mmc) makes it more complicated than it should be, protocol: port:true/false.

    if you just want a personal firewall for windows i like sygate.
     
  9. .:JustaDrunk:.

    .:JustaDrunk:. \/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central, PA
    I can't remember exactly, the pop-up warnings were anoying, but there was more than that. I used to install it on family memebers PC that needed it, but i wouldn't use it myself. It really wouldn't work for the this situation either.
     
  10. .:JustaDrunk:.

    .:JustaDrunk:. \/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central, PA
    I'll have to give it a try at home, not sure how to change the modem mode, or any settings really. looks like i got some reading to do.
     
  11. .:JustaDrunk:.

    .:JustaDrunk:. \/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central, PA
    That's pretty much my problem with ISA, makes easy things complicated. I just need to leave a few external ports open for Exchange/IIS. Never tried sygate, i'll take a look, we have a very small network here.
     
  12. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    As far as firewalls go, I like that I can block a program from accessing the internet. That's one of those things that just bugs me that programs do.
    I don't even let adobe reader access. If I want to update it,
    I'll do it on my own.
    And I just turn off the popups on mine.
    But I also run behind a router as well. So I don't get a lot of alerts anyway.
     
  13. .:JustaDrunk:.

    .:JustaDrunk:. \/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central, PA
    yes, Photoshop does the same thing, anoying as hell. I'll be running IIS/Exchange plus other stuff on this so ZoneAlarm will become anoying.
     
  14. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Nothinng wrong here with XP SP2 popup blocker and firewall
     
  15. D3aC0n

    D3aC0n Vesa ToskaLOL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    37,269
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Toronto
    if he wants something that blocks outbound traffic, then no..
     
  16. D3aC0n

    D3aC0n Vesa ToskaLOL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    37,269
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Toronto
  17. .:JustaDrunk:.

    .:JustaDrunk:. \/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central, PA
  18. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sygate Personal Firewall 5.6. Get it on Download.com.
     

Share This Page