Socket type

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Pioneer, Feb 4, 2004.

  1. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,128
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    PNW
    Aquired an old Compaq, what socket is a PII?
     
  2. MattIROC

    MattIROC has a semi nice av. changed due to rules :(

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, Tx
    I believe it's 370.
     
  3. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,128
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    PNW
    That's PIII, is it PII also?

    I thought each one was different. PIV is '478', most AMDs are 'A' (with the early ones being '7') aand the AMD 64s are '754' with the FX-51 & Opteron a '940'
     
  4. MattIROC

    MattIROC has a semi nice av. changed due to rules :(

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, Tx
    when I typed in p2 socket I got 370...

    I assumed that before I looked it up, but just wanted to check.

    I'm gonna say they are the same, maybe someone else can chime in and confirm this?

    Have you looked on a mobo that supports P2's btw? Some of them say what socket it is.
     
  5. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,128
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    PNW
    AHA!! I looked up 'socket 370' on google and the first thing it gave me was a PII/PIII MB
     
  6. MattIROC

    MattIROC has a semi nice av. changed due to rules :(

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, Tx
    yep. :bigthumb:
     
  7. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,128
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    PNW
    Interesting! I'm pretty sure I saw somewhere that this had a max of 256RAM but I'm finding 512RAM at this site
     
  8. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,128
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    PNW

Share This Page