SRS So who's on the job hunt?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Nev, Aug 13, 2009.

1. Nev

Nev OT Supporter

And not having any luck?

Maybe this can be a thread where we get some help with resumes, cover letters, etc etc

Currently have an accounting degree without any experience and it's near impossible to find a decent job. Just went to staples and got some more resume supplies :hs:

2. Ford4Life

Ford4Life Guest

I was until a few weeks ago.

It took me 8 months to find a job. Things are really bad, all you can do is keep applying and hope that eventually you will catch a break. I was lucky, I was in a financial position to hold out for something I really wanted. If you are desperate, you can try getting a few temp jobs, that will give you something related to your field that you can put on your resume.

3. seismic

seismic New Member

Get some people to look over your resume! I'm not an expert but I was complimented on my resume/cover letter writing when I was hired six months ago. I was declined for the job that I applied for, but the CFO who interviewed me went as far as to say "I'm going to create a position for you, because it's obvious, based on your cover letter, that you know how to speak". I had a job within a couple weeks. :)

I'd be happy to review it if you wanted to edit out the personal info and post it.

4. Nev

Nev OT Supporter

I'd appreciate that. I'm currently working on improving my cover letter, and my resume is nothing to write home about. I don't have any experience in my field.

I'm currently working in retail management while I look for a job and it's slowly eating at my soul.

5. Nev

Nev OT Supporter

Did you custom-write each and every cover letter?

6. seismic

seismic New Member

Yes. I took the listing, and worded all my experience to fit what they were looking for. I also tried to do it in my resume if I could.

7. Nev

Nev OT Supporter

I sent you a quick PM

8. GregFarz78

GregFarz78 New Member