A&P So should I become a Digital Rebel sackrider too?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by insomnia, Feb 6, 2005.

1. insomnia

insomnia New Member

I am new to the hobby and looking for a good starter camera. I have a Cannon S70 now but looking for something much better. Is this an alright starter camera?

Also where is a good place to get one? I've seen prices around 8---1k with a fair amount of accessories, this a good price? Thanks :hs:

2. Dnepr

Dnepr Guest

Get d70 instead unless you have canon lenses.

the new 200$ rebate for d70 kit makes it so much more sweeter

3. insomnia

insomnia New Member

How does the d70 compare to the cannon? And do you have a link to that rebate?

4. vwpilot

vwpilot New Member

The D70 takes photos while the cannon blows things up. :rofl:

The Canon does not have as many features as the D70 and is a little more neutered than the Nikon, especially in the way of speed and focus.

The Nikon has a larger buffer, more freedom when it comes to settings and the kit version comes with a much better lens.

The DReb is not a bad camera, but you are getting a lot more for your money with the Nikon and if you plan on shooting anything with faster moving objects (such as sports of any kind) you will be much happier with the Nikon.

5. insomnia

insomnia New Member

Sorry for the mispellings, it's late here :hsugh:

I'll be mostly doing outdoors shooting, alot of aviation pictures too. Thanks for the advice :hs:

6. Milin

Milin It's Terminal.

the drebel was great for me. It was either that or a canon g5 or something similar and so the jump to digital rebel was a small one for me.

7. vwpilot

vwpilot New Member

Haha, I just had to try to be funny.

If you are doing aviation photography I think that you should really consider the Nikon instead. Here's why.

The way the Rebel is neutered in its focus is that you cannot use the AI Servo focus mode while using an exposure mode other than the programmed sports mode.