So my laptop hard drive took a shit

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Chris, Dec 30, 2006.

  1. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    is there any way to hook up an IDE lappy drive to something else to use it as a slave so I can save my data?
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    That is great, so if I can extract the data from the drive, will I be able to restore my computer to its state before the fuck up on a new laptop drive, with all the same programs and stuff

    will the windows registry and everything be intact
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    First of all, define what you mean by the drive taking a shit.

    If it's completely toast, you won't be able to get data from it at all.

    If it just stopped booting up, there could be things you could maybe do
    to repair it. (running a windows repair, for example)

    If it stopped booting up, and it is not repairable, then you won't be able
    to transfer the previous full-state over to a new drive -
    But may be able to save your data.

    If it is repairable, then you obviously won't need to transfer it.

    Basically, we need more info. :mamoru:
     
  5. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    Windows goes to a blue screen when I boot up, the blue screen says there is an unmountable boot vloume, so I ran the Dell diagnostics, which found one block of memory failed an IDE read test

    And the guy at Dell tech support told me that other than my warranty expired in June my hard drive needed to be replaced, he said I could try calling drive savers but didnt say whether they would be able to do anything
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Is this an XP machine?
     
  7. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    send it to me, i can recover it AND possibly make it bootable again so you don't lose anything at all
     
  8. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    yes
     
  9. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    you think you can do that? I would probably just want to buy a new (bigger) hard drive. I had been wanting to forever but didnt want to hassle with all the data. You think you could make the new drive bootable
     
  10. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    more than likely, yes
     
  11. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    Ok, well lemme see about getting a new drive, of course this happens right after christmas when I have no money

    and my mom asked me probably a hunded times if I wanted a new computer for christmas because mine was so old and told her no, its fine :wtc:
     
  12. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    I had the hard drive on my laptop die 2 weeks. Pain in the ass. I ran Ultimate Boot CD, was able to boot, and back my stuff up onto a DVD through that.
     
  13. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    :Ownedd:
     
  14. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    if it was me, i would use the adapter on the laptop drive in my pc an then run spinrite and hope that it can repair the damage

    if it can, i'd ghost the drive onto another drive and then extract whatever i want from it on my pc
     
  15. emulex

    emulex New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    go leech spinrite 6 off the torrents, then get a idc 44 to idc 40 pin adapter it basically makes it work off your standard IDE PATA port.

    boot the spinrite floppy or cd whatever you like and let it have at it for about a day or three, it will repair what it can best. seriously will take some time. it can save about 50% more data than most other programs.

    then slave it and try to read off what you can
     
  16. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm pretty sure you don't have to "leech" SpinRite. Isn't there a free version?
     
  17. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    So I got the adapter and tried to plug it into my desktop but all of the connectors on my computer have the middle pin plug blocked off so I cant plug the adpter in

    should I snap off the pin on the adapter? :o

    heres the desktop I have :hsugh:
    http://www.powerspec.com/systems/archives/system_archive.phtml?selection=6241
     
  18. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    no, that won't work

    and i told you to send it to me and i could recover it for you
     
  19. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    I know, Im stubborn, I thought I would give it a try
     
  20. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Put into external enclosure, plug into another xp machine, run checkdisk with repair and problem is fixed.
     
  21. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    yeah, thats what I was thinking, I just dont want to have to buy anything at the moment, I dont make any money until school starts back up
     
  22. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
  23. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, snapping the middle pin off the adaptor will let it connect. The middle pin doesn't carry any data anyway, or else it wouldn't be blocked off.

    Now, as far as getting the data off the drive is concerned, you'll still need to run Spinrite on it if your desktop machine can't read the laptop disk.
     
  24. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    snapped off the pin, got it connected but made a noob mistake, I need a jumper but how should I set it up

    [​IMG]


    device 1 right?
     
  25. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device 0 = Master
    Device 1 = Slave

    If you're connecting the drive to a cable with another drive on it, set it to Slave. If it's on its own cable, set it to Master.
     

Share This Page