MMA so my college has an interesting club...

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by Nomad, Jul 29, 2007.

1. Nomad

Nomad Active Member

the college i'm going to this fall (York College of Pennsylvania, had to change colleges ftl) doesn't have any sort of martial arts clubs or so....but they have something called "FIGHT CLUB". it's a school sponsored club where people who want to spar/train get together and do standup work, along with grappling and such....seems a pretty good alternative to training at an MMA gym (especially since PA bans MMA) what do you all think?

2. checkii

checkii ฝรั่งตาน้ำข้าว

sounds like a bunch of guys with no training trying to pretend they are "cage fighters".

you never know, so its worth checking out, but i wouldn't get your hopes up.

3. Nomad

Nomad Active Member

i was just going to go and work on my ground work (i'm a beginner in BJJ and can't find any schools near me, since i don't have a car, and i did HS wrestling for 2 years) and probably some stand up....but yeah, odds are that its just a bunch of fucking guidos thinking they'll get a UFC contract in the next day or two....

4. ilduce

ilduce New Member

I am from the area and there are a couple of gyms in Lancaster if you are interested in that?? I went to one the other night and it was pretty fun. My brother and good friend train a bit there and I was staying with him for a few days before heading to Florida and it was a good time. And since was MMA banned and why the heck did you choose York??

5. Nomad

Nomad Active Member

mainly it had to do with housing....see my family lives overseas and i got into a couple other colleges, but they wouldn't guarantee housing for me...but York did, so i took them up on that offer....i'm not too upset about MMA being banned in PA, from what i know of the geography York isn't that far from the Maryland border and whatnot....

but basically i was just looking for somewhere to train BJJ and possibly even some stand up..