So my bud gave me Leopard to install on my machine

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Weazy, Nov 26, 2007.

  1. Weazy

    Weazy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    He works at the Mac store and grabbed me the install DVD.
    So I go to install it on my OS9 machine and it says I need a previous version of OSX. What is this shit? It's not an upgrade DVD, it's the full install!

    So, what is the best route to go in order to get a previous version of OSX? Ebay? Anyone here have something I can buy off them?
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    if your machine is running OS9, most likely it wont be able to handle leopard anyways...

    what are the specs on the computer....

    if you must, just download 10.4 from a torrent site, and then install from there.
     
  3. Weazy

    Weazy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston

    I was afraid of that. For some reaosn I seem to remember reading somewhere that it probably couldn't handle it.
    Here's the specs:
    PowerMac G4
    AGA Graphics
    either 400 or 450mhz (can't remember off the top of my head)
    1g ram
    Small hard drive (for now)


    Also, one problem with it being an OS9 machine is that half the websites I go to I can barely read. Seems like they don't support old ass browsers. Could you recommend one?

    Thanks!
     
  4. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  5. Weazy

    Weazy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
  6. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    reason enough for a new Mac Pro
     
  7. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Mac Pro ftw
     
  8. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
    I think I've read about people hacking it to get it run on slower G4s, but yeah getting a Mac Pro would be your best option. I got one earlier this year, and it's amazingly fast compared to my old G4.
     
  9. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    would install tiger or panther, it would be worlds faster than a hacked leopard install
     
  10. Weazy

    Weazy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Well, I have a sick G5 at work that I am on every day for design and publishing. If I need to do anything really big, I use that. This is basically just for my home stuff which includes downloading, surfing, music stuff, etc etc. Problem with my G5 at work is that it's behind a firewall, so doing certain things is impossible. I don't need an insane machine at home. I really just need a better/more up-to-date operating system. I can't do anything online because nothing supports these browsers I'm forced to use with OS9. I have a Panther upgrade CD/s but still again, need an original OSX operating system before I can upgrade.
    I found a couple on Ebay I may just buy plus I have a buddy looking on some torrent sites for me for an earlier OSX.
    Thanks again guys
    Oh and if anyone has a link offhand to a torrent that I can send him to download for me, that would be great ;)
     
  11. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
    Tiger should be fine for you then, I'm sure you can still easily find it on the pirate bay etc.
     

Share This Page