So like, what I've done for the past 21 years doesn't work. Advice?

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by CabbieNamedAxel, Feb 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CabbieNamedAxel

CabbieNamedAxel OTCC|SF OT Supporter

Those 21 years being my whole life, I've always been a fattie. I was nearly 12lbs when I was born, and now I'm nearly 400lbs and 6'4". I know I'll never be a small guy (hell, my I wear a size 8 hat and its really tight on me, and my head is shaved), but I need to get my ass in gear and get healthy. I have a gym membership, but no transportation. Also, I'm lucky enough to be in the position that my job will actually benefit. I'm an apprentice butcher, so I can pretty much get whatever meat for whatever price. And since I work in a market and not a butcher shop, I can get great produce extremely cheap.

My diet ideas always suck, and I never know what the best workout would be. At the moment, my buddy and I are saving cash to make a workout room in my garage, but even then we don't really know what to get. Any advice would be great, and yea I've read a lot of the archives, so I know some of the diet basics (i.e. oatmeal/tuna/fruits&veggies = win).

Right now, and this is just me trying something new, for Lent I'm going with a no meat diet. Heavy on fish, especially sole and tuna, and a lot of salads. Tonights dinner was about half a pound of petrale sole in a frying pan with olive oil, s&p, and lemon, and every vegetable I could find tossed on some lettuce with more lemon and olive oil.

2. ccrooks

ccrooks New Member

good luck

basically, diet + exercise = profit. it sucks that you don't have transportation to/from the gym, but you can still do cardio (walking/running/biking/whatever to maintain an elevated heart rate)

use www.fitday.com to track your diet (ballparking doesn't really work that well) and be consistent + patient. results will come

3. forum95

forum95 Come see bout us OT Supporter