So I've got a sleeping AMD 64-bit 3000

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TheRemains, May 17, 2005.

  1. TheRemains

    TheRemains If I sound disrespectful, it's only because you're

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    40,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    What do I need to do to awaken the 64bit power? I know I have to download special drivers, but drivers for every piece of hardware on my computer? And should I update to the new windows xp64 now, or should i wait until they start selling it in stores?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you cannot get the "special" drivers, as you put it, without using XP64.

    And death to the first dumbass that says "linux" :ugh:
     
  3. Monstrddg

    Monstrddg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    DEATH you fucking noob douchebag!
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Another vote for Linux.
     
  6. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,459
    Likes Received:
    12
    For home use just wait for apps, drivers, and an official OS from M$ to come out in the next year or so.

    If you must play with a 64-bit OS now, even though you won't be able to do a damn thing that was meant for 64-bit like allocate 64+GB of RAM or add 256+ luns. You can play with x86 solaris, linux, beta xp64. But you'll essentially be wasting your time.
     

Share This Page