So is my graphics card knackered?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by OFI, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    think it probably is but just to confirm..

    when I try and load a video my screen goes blank on/off and the CPU hits 100% usage. If I leave the video running the blank screens become more occurent until the PC hangs/reboots.

    pretty similar to this guy really http://www.techsupportforum.com/mic...xp-support/137125-cpu-100-screen-flashes.html

    but my PC doesn't need a better PSU and it has used this one for a good couple of years or so.
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    post specs
    does it happen to any video file? an HD vid can stress out cpus
    have you tried different media players?
    uninstall/update drivers?
    any other vid card you can try out?
     
  3. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    appears to happen with all video files, youtube etc work fine though

    tried several players

    might have a go at stripping codecs, drivers and directx and starting again

    no other card to try out :-(
     
  4. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    your rig should play most vids but would work its ass off with HD content.
    do try updating the drivers and shit. use drivercleaner if you can.
    also check your temps (cpu/vid card). the hang reboot can also be caused by overheating.
     
  5. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    That doesn't mean it's not dying.
     
  6. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    True, any suggestions on methods of creating a load elsewhere on the PC? (Yea HD content never did work too well) I can't find a sensor on the GFX card but the CPU temp is fine even throughout the spikes. Even loading a shitty FLV locally kills it.
     

Share This Page