SRS So I'm torn on this whole school thing ...

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by blindarrow, Sep 7, 2005.

1. blindarrow

blindarrow New Member

I graduated HS in 2003. I enrolled in college the first time around and just sort of half-assed it.. ended up withdrawing because I didn't think it was what I really wanted. I went off and did the whole working thing up until this summer when I realized that I didn't want to spend my whole life being someone else's bitch all the time. I re-enrolled and have tried to stay pretty serious on it.. however, old habits die hard. I've skipped a few classes, missed an assignment, and have felt myself starting to slip. I really want to do this, but I'm having trouble trying to focus on it. It doesn't help that I'm having to try and find part time work now too, so I can cover expenses and such.

How is everyone staying motivated at this? I made a "to do" list last night, and I've got alot of crap I have to do ... I felt better after I wrote it all down, because I felt like I had some order to everything at least. However, it's still pretty piled up, and I'm pretty stressed over it all.

Advice?

2. johan

johan Active Member

So you've had a taste of regular working life and it ain't to your liking and you realize school is your ticket out of that shithole. Good. And it only took you a summer to realize that.

And now you're back in school, and bored stupid. So let me ask you.
    What are you taking in school?

Maybe you might do better in a technical school? Welders make good money. (for example).

Making lists and such are a good tactical level plan for how to get through the days, weeks and months. But if you're doing college, that's four years. Make sure you spend that time wisely.

I'm talking about a higher level review of exactly WHY you're in school, why you chose whatever school, whatever major, etc etc.

Answer the bigger question first before you focus on how you're going to arrange your daily activities.