GUN So I'm looking to buy a Yugo SKS online...

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Ludeykrus, Jan 15, 2005.

1. Ludeykrus

Ludeykrus New Member

And i've read on the FFL thing, but don't understand it. From what I hav eread, it seems like you would need the license if you intended to deal firearms. I just want to buy an SKS from a website such as AimSurplus or CenterFireSystems.com. What would I need to do to purchase it and have it shipped to me, and what would be involved timewise?

I am new to buying guns on the internet, and don't want to be caught surprised!

2. Vermincelli

Vermincelli Banned

First, find an FFL in your area, be it a gun shop, pawn shop or even a private person with their FFL. They will give you a form that is signed that you will need to mail to the person or company you are buying from or they may do it themselves. When the seller has it in hand, they will then ship the firearm to the FFL in your area after any waiting periods. You will then have to go down and pay that person/business their fee to get it.

Try this to see where the nearest FFL is in your area.
    http://www.auctionarms.com/help/fflnetwork.cfm

Take into consideration when purchasing online...

The cost of the weapon online, FFL transfer fees from both the seller(if not included in the cost already) and the tranferer, taxes if any and shipping costs.

Depending on where you live and if you have local gunshops that are well stocked, You can and oftentimes end up paying more online for something that you could go down and buy locally. Just have to do some shopping and comparing.

Last edited: Jan 15, 2005
  3. RRTX

RRTX New Member

The rifle would have to be sent to a licensed dealer in your area and then they transfer it to you. They charge a fee to handle the transfer, normally around $25 . The only way it could be shipped direct to you is if you had a C&R FFL

4. Ukraine Train

Ukraine Train New Member