So I'm giving this Adium thingy a shot...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Skoles, Jan 15, 2006.

  1. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    All the kids in the schoolyard are talking about how it's the bee's knees so I just had to try it. I normally just use iChat because I don't do much more than quick IM's w/friends and it does the job. But lately it's just been cutting out too frequently on me so I'll give something else a shot.

    Only issue I have really is that I want to reorganize my list & groups and don't see a way. It's an old list that's from AIM (and my s/n) so it automatically loads the same thing no matter what program I use. Any way to clean this thing up?
     
  2. Kirk Hinrich

    Kirk Hinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brown Line
    .
    thats why i stopped using it
     
  3. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    well, you could install AIM just as easily to use that to reorganize it, but i want to avoid that.
     
  4. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    adium > all other clients :hs:
     
  5. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    adiums file transfer capabilities are lacking, but iChat lacks tabbed windows. this is a total catch 22 for me. i just keep them both on my dock. i fire up adium on nights when im popular :hs:
     
  6. newsroom_can

    newsroom_can Canada eh?

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    17,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    :werd:
     
  7. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    You're not selling me by not helping me here.
     
  8. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    lol. nobody is answering the question.
     
  9. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    why the hell would someone wait till im online to answer a question here?

    I did delete some through the java based AIM but was tedious so I d/l'd and installed AIM to do it that way. I wanted to avoid that but I guess I can't.
     
  10. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
  11. bandwagon

    bandwagon Copy/Paste

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am pretty sure you can drag-move your contacts on the list.
     
  12. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    I couldn't. Even w/the "sort manually" option.
     
  13. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    i've used gaim on my windows box for the past 3 years? so my groups moved over fine the first time i loaded up adium. So i dunno how I could help you, but i fucking love adium. encrypted OTR chat ftw also
     
  14. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    Gte info on the screename, by left clicking it. There is a tab where you can change what group that user is in.
     
  15. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    Cool thanks.
     
  16. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    adium <3

    after the initial setup in AIM it's an amazing client
     
  17. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    you might also be well-served to know that if you're ever having problems with your buddy list, deleting the "libgaim" folder in ~Library/Application Support/Adium 2.0/Users/youruser/ often solves many BL-related problems. Dumping that folder will cause adium to grab the most recent copy of the BL from the AIM server.
     
  18. Euclid

    Euclid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    I've been trying to make an offtopic smiley set for adium but I am having some weird problem with it. :wtc: I wish it would work.
     
  19. agent0068

    agent0068 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    39,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    you don't need to ever use another aim client

    i forget if you can just drag buddies around or if you have hold the apple key while dragging (and selecting a buddy/group and hitting apple delete to remove them from the list)....

    the functionality is all there.
     
  20. coronet

    coronet Do Andriods Dream of Electric Sheep?

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    32,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Hills, Los Angeles, California
    So it's GAIM but graphically designed for OSX? That's pretty awesome; GAIM is problably the best IM project out there, it's good to see people are using open-source for good stuff.
     
  21. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    That's what I was looking for. Gold star for you!
     
  22. Abe is a Gnome

    Abe is a Gnome New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, that tip is awesome. i love adium, but now it's even better. my favorite thing is that you can just move down the list and see everyones away without clicking anything.
     
  23. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    the moderator Pineapple Devil has made one already. PM him or request that he post it in this thread. :bowdown:
     
  24. bandwagon

    bandwagon Copy/Paste

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea I'd love that smiley set... but is there support so that your contacts can see your custom emoticons yet?
     
  25. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    they just have to have the same set installed :)
     

Share This Page