So I was asked to build a computer

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Maffy29, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Actually its more like a home server of sorts for a friend of my father's. He wants a form factor machine to set up at his house to use for system backups, a print server (he has three kids in school), and some light file sharing (pictures, etc). I said I could probably do it for $800 set up. I would like to order everything from Newegg if possible.

    I figure I will need:

    Shuttle or similar FF case
    Intel proc
    2GB DDR2 RAM
    1TB HDD

    He has already given me a copy of Windows Server 2003 that he got from the IT guy at work. This system will be hardwired to the router, so no need for anything wireless.

    Is my $800 quote doable? Thats ordering everything and a little profit for me.
     
  2. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    HD video?

    I'd say $800 was plenty.
     
  3. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I think $800 is more than enough...

    I built a shuttle barebones PC a couple of years ago and I'm very happy with it.

    What about upping the RAM to 4 gigs? I'm not sure how much of that Windows server will see though...
     
  4. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I don't think its going to do any HD video or anything like that. Its not connecting to a TV or a monitor from the way he described it.

    I could probably do 4GB for not much more. RAM is cheap these days.
     
  5. JasonKnight

    JasonKnight OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6,710
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, PA

    I think what they mean is if it will be used to stream HD media to other PC's or Media Centers on the network. or even a PS3 or 360.
     
  6. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    For a home server you should probably have RAID....

    I imagine the guy is going to end up just putting all his pictures/etc on the server and he will expect you to recover them if (when) the HDD dies. With how cheap 1TB drives are now, I'd probably just use the onboard RAID controller and do a RAID-1.
     
  7. Poz_Dispenser

    Poz_Dispenser New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaumont, TX
    This. Mirror raids ftw.
     
  8. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Server 2003 can run on ancient hardware. To be able to stream HD stuff, you would need a dual core or something similar, but if its just music, print server, and storage, ive built one using an 800mhz Duron with 512mb ram and it worked fine.

    The only real thing you need to worry about is noise if its in a public area, and heat if its on 24/7. Everything else can scrape by with old hardware (minus the HDDs)
     
  9. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    I second all of this
     
  10. caddymac

    caddymac New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can pick up an off lease Dell desktop for about $200-300 (http://www.dellauction.com). Throw in a couple 1TB drives (say $200), and maybe a RAID controller card if the motherboard doesn't do it native.
     
  11. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Some dells do not work well with server 2003. Many would require replacing the onboard audio with dedicated card as well as the onboard NIC with a card.

    I guess it wouldn't matter that much if its just a print server, but its an extra step that could be avoided by not getting a dell.
     
  12. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    4 is the max
     
  13. caddymac

    caddymac New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was not aware of this. There goes those plans for cheap 2k3 server.
     
  14. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Why? A cheap sound card and NIC will run you 5 bucks each off newegg or CL.

    I used a FREE 800mhz duron, 5 dollar sound card, free NIC, and bought a HDD. Total server cost me WELL under 100 bucks for everything.
     
  15. caddymac

    caddymac New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I was speaking more for the OP, I'm thinking anything to add to his cost takes away his profit.

    Personally at my house I'm running a Dell Optiplex GX620 with Windows XP as a file server of sorts. It works okay for what I want it to. I thought about throwing Server 2003 on there, but never got around to it. I don't do any RAID, but I do backup files to an external drive every so many months. I definitely think the OP should do a RAID setup, though, because most people (self included) are just plain lazy when it comes to backing up data.
     
  16. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,932
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
    cpu/mobo/ram = ~$200
    antec 300 case = $60
    psu = ???? pick one
    raid card = ~$100-150.....or you can use onboard raid and save monies
    3 500GB HDDs raid 5, or 2 1TB raid 1= $150-$170
     
  17. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Yeah, I think I will do a RAID 1 for data backup on the machine.
     
  18. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    RAID ≠ Backup
     

Share This Page