So I just got an external firewire HDD

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TenSteel, May 20, 2006.

  1. TenSteel

    TenSteel Ted Cruz suicide hotline OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    14,087
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    San Diego
    Got an external drive for a total backup of my internal HD on my iMac G5. I've already installed Carbon Copy Cloner and plugged in the drive, but it still says there are no other drives mounted on the system when I run it. Do I need to reformat the drive?
     
  2. MrBucket

    MrBucket OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    140,213
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bergen County
    my external hd just worked as soon as i plugged it in, see if disk tools or whatever it is sees anything
     
  3. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    mine does the same thing with Carbon Copy Cloner, I used a program called Deja Vu and that worked...
     
  4. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    WHen you plug it in does the drive show up on the desktop as untilted with a firewire symbol?
     
  5. TenSteel

    TenSteel Ted Cruz suicide hotline OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    14,087
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    San Diego
    yes

    under disk tools, the drive shows it's formatted with an MS-DOS format, hence my suspicion to format it.
     
  6. TenSteel

    TenSteel Ted Cruz suicide hotline OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    14,087
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    San Diego
    update: formatted the drive with mac os journaled format, now i'm cloning with CC Cloner. :bigthumb:
     
  7. dnicol

    dnicol shoopdawoop

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    Mac os journaled format ftw.
     

Share This Page