So I just bought a new external hard drive..

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Lethal, Sep 11, 2007.

  1. Lethal

    Lethal OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    27,523
    Likes Received:
    19
    A western digital 320gb. Anyway, I was backing up my hard drive to it tonight and it stopped about 14 mins in and said that either i ran out of space or the backup file size is too large. I'm on an 80gb laptop, I tried doing it again and same problem. Help? :hs:
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Reformat as NTFS if it isn't already.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    obviously it's not a 320gb partition :mamoru: or you have other stuff on it.
     
  4. Lethal

    Lethal OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    27,523
    Likes Received:
    19
    I'm reformatting the HD as we speak..hopefully that will be why it didnt work.
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or it's formatted as FAT32 and it can't handle a .BKF file larger than 4GB.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    most backup proggies can divide it into files under the limit.
     
  7. if it's a fat32 file system, it won't handle anything over 4gb, or was it 2gb? and it will say that the harddrive is out of space. it's weird though because when i sometimes accidentally try to copy a 10gb movie file onto my fat32 portable, it will immediately say it's out of space instead of copy until it gets to that certain file.

    just reformat the drive to a ntfs and you'll be fine, assuming you are using a PC and not mac.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    MS Backup doesn't do this, as I recall.
     
  9. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Were you using a backup program or just copying files over to it?
     
  10. Lethal

    Lethal OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    27,523
    Likes Received:
    19
    I was using a back up program just as I am right now. I believe its going to work because its past half-way and when the error occured last time, it wasnt very far in. Thanks for the help everyone, especially deusex:cool:
     
  11. Lethal

    Lethal OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    27,523
    Likes Received:
    19
    It finished, but it said there was some type of error since there was no floppy disk drive? And something about ASR? :dunno:
    Either way, there is about a 70gig back up file on my external hd. So, success?
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2007
  12. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    sounds that way
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    An ASR disk is a floppy disk that contains instructions for the Windows install CD to automatically restore the backup you just made in case your computer goes completely tits-up. It's a good idea to have it.

    Go buy a USB floppy drive if you don't have one already. You'll hardly ever use it, but if you only use it twice it'll be a lifesaver those two times.
     

Share This Page