So I have an Uncle with a broken PS3

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by Slurms McKenzie, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. Slurms McKenzie

    Slurms McKenzie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    19,932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North America
    Says it won't even turn on, so he's throwing it out to get the slim. Would it be worth it for me to take it from him and fix it? Can I do that? How much will I be expecting to spend?

    I did some Googling I assume he has the YLOD :dunno:

    He says it has BC. :bowdown::bowdown::bowdown:
     
  2. DaninTexas

    DaninTexas OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Very least take it and call sony. Then you have a BC ps3 for 150
     
  3. freshie

    freshie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    8,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royersford, PA
    or you can take it and sell it for some $$
     
  4. Slurms McKenzie

    Slurms McKenzie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    19,932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North America
    This is what I was thinking, would be :bowdown: if he comes through.
     
  5. pbcustom98

    pbcustom98 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    at a theater near you!
    if its free, get it and see how much it would cost to fix from sony...or google.
     
  6. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    trade to gamestop for credit and get a new one.

    but i'd keep it because its bc.
     
  7. Professor Chaos

    Professor Chaos New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    21,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    All repairs from Sony are $150 IIRC
     
  8. juvental604

    juvental604 I like to pee upside down OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    just fix the ylod yourself and then proceed to trade teh ps3 in at gamespot for a slim.

    Its not hard at all to fix a ylod. I posted a guide on how to do it a while back.
     
  9. pbcustom98

    pbcustom98 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    at a theater near you!
    oh
    :hsd:
     
  10. NavS

    NavS its me!

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    32,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SumwhereKanaduh PSN/XBL: NavS2
    follow gilxy's guide on fixing it, it gives various results... there are some professional places that do it... check the playstation forums, they have this guy that does it for 70 bucks shipped or something like that has a longer warranty than Sony to...


    with sony you get a refurb back, with the independent places you get your original one back so its good for keeping save games and shit you didn't back up.
     
  11. juvental604

    juvental604 I like to pee upside down OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    yup. it really is quite simple to open up the ps3 and reapply some paste and use a heatgun on it to reflow everything though.

    After that trade it in cause its just a ticking time bomb
     
  12. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Or... just take the harddrive out when you send it.
     
  13. Rivers

    Rivers THROW AWAY LOGIC AND KICK REASON TO THE CURB

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    0
    fix it yourself or find someone on craigslist to fix it under $100
     
  14. Slurms McKenzie

    Slurms McKenzie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    19,932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North America
    Is the hard drive what lets it have BC?
     
  15. NavS

    NavS its me!

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    32,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SumwhereKanaduh PSN/XBL: NavS2
    no, and you can't just swap harddrives and have them work... it will force you to reformat.
     
  16. Slurms McKenzie

    Slurms McKenzie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    19,932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North America
    Balls.
     

Share This Page