So I have a SATA HD laying around

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Necromancer, Dec 23, 2006.

  1. Necromancer

    Necromancer Guest

    160gb.

    Bought it, opened it and relized I need an ATA so whatev. How can I turn it into an external hard drive?
     
  2. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    You can buy external enclosures to use the drive in. I personally like the Vantec Nexstar series, but there are plenty of options out there.
     
  3. Necromancer

    Necromancer Guest

    This is kind of cool because I just bought an external 160gb hard drive that is still unopened so I can return that.

    I'll newegg enclosures and see how cheap I can get them for.
     
  4. Beason

    Beason They call me "The Stig"

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,601
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    One problem with this is that if his pc doesn't have sata, there's a small chance it doesn't have usb 2.0 or firewire either.

    That needs to be looked into before making a leap to an external enclosure.
     
  7. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    You like it? I was looking at buying that one.
     
  8. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yeah, it's been great so far. The only gripe I had was that the eSATA bracket that Vantec included had the wrong connector on the part that connects to the motherboard, but I sent them an email and they sent me a proper adapter for it. Otherwise, it's been awesome. I run it through eSATA on one PC, and through USB on another (not at the same time, of course), and on both interfaces it works great. That, and they look pretty cool too.
     
  9. Necromancer

    Necromancer Guest

    Definitly has USB 2.0, 6 ports to be exact but I couldn't find anything the SATA could plug into.
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    You need the USB 2.0 (or firewire, if so equipped) if you use an external case.

    If you wanted to use it internally, you would need an SATA pci card.
     
  11. Necromancer

    Necromancer Guest

    I figured there was some card I could use.

    I wonder if best buy has it or something.
     
  12. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    Hmmm. Maybe I should pick it up. I bought a Rosewill case earlier, and didn't like it.
     

Share This Page