WEB so i has upgraded my server

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Zoom, Aug 7, 2008.

  1. Zoom

    Zoom New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Xeon HarpertownE5430 -Quad (2.66GHz)
    4 GB
    2x 250GB SOftware Raid 1 (fucking took like 4 OS reload before I got it working)
    2TB BW

    and lots of other shit...

    fucking love this power house! :hsd:
     
  2. bawlinmo

    bawlinmo Neighborhood Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    what os? serving from home or elsewhere? that's pretty awesome!
     
  3. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    SW RAID 1 FTL, should have bought HW RAID-1 or RAID-5.
    How much cache on the CPU?

    Doesn't look all the great.
     
  4. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nice!

    I recently consolidated my production environment to two servers. I went with the dual processor 5405 Xeon's. (2.0ghz Quad Cores)

    8GB Ram, 2 x 73gb 15ks, 8 x 300gb 10ks, etc.

    This is for VoIP stuff though.. not your normal websites. :o
     
  5. dazmanultra

    dazmanultra New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    34,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    English Countryside
    Get some 15k SCSI disks, SATA sucks balls in comparison.

    We don't use anything but SCSI anymore. :o (apart from in our 16 disk backup NAS)
     
  6. TheDarkHorizon

    TheDarkHorizon \xC0\xFF\xEE

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Sounds like a SoftLayer box.
     
  7. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    It's all about SAS drives. :)
     
  8. Zoom

    Zoom New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    :bowdown: u good...


    Too little budget and besides, Hardware Raid-1, from what I read, can corrupt your data... Best I read is Hardware Raid 10..


    I wanna get a SSD Drive, but they dont offer that yet and if they did, it'd be fucking expansive.

    I know liquid web offers them, but again, for a fucking crazy price. It'd probably be better to go colo at this point...
     
  9. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    wat.
     
  10. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    You've been smoking some mad shit son, because that's wrong.

    RAID 5 is usually considered the best. And why would HW RAID corrupt your data? It's more reliable then letting software take care of it.

    Noobs...
     
  11. Zoom

    Zoom New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. dazmanultra

    dazmanultra New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    34,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    English Countryside
    RAID10 is very good for performance, but then you lose half the capacity of the array, whereas RAID5 you only lose the capacity of one disk. We use RAID5 in our backup NAS, where a bit of redundancy plus a lot of space is a bigger requirement than the performance.

    Horses for courses...
     
  13. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA

    Right, you usually see RAID 10 in databases more and anything. Everything else can be kept to RAID 5, because the need for speed is not as necessary as with at DB.
     
  14. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    Easy enough to replace a RAID card, then you're back in action (after a rebuild). Same would go for the SW.

    That chart is RAID 5 vs RAID 10 in HW, not SW. SW = the lose man.

    And if you're running 15k SAS drives, RAID 5 vs RAID 10, performance wise (and as well if you have a good DBA maintaining your database) you probably won't see major changes.
     
  15. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    :rofl: @ comparing software RAID to hardware RAID.


    Thats like comparing an electric supercharger to a real blower on a car. :mamoru:
     
  16. bawlinmo

    bawlinmo Neighborhood Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    im using a shared host. beat that.
     

Share This Page