So i got the new macbook with 512mb..

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Turkey_Sub, May 20, 2006.

  1. Turkey_Sub

    Turkey_Sub New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    of memory. It just wasnt cutting it so I just ordered 2 x 1GB sticks for $248. I hope to see much better performance with four times the ram.
     
  2. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    spend 5 and buy an av :o




    and yes, you will see a nice responsive performance
     
  3. Turkey_Sub

    Turkey_Sub New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah my sub just ran out... ill do it up again soon

    my bad bro...my bad
     
  4. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Anyone know if you lift up the keyboard like you do on the old iBooks to install new ram or do you have to take it appart? I was looking at the new keyboard and it looks harder...
     
  5. Inferno

    Inferno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    20,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    its actually under the battery. You unclip two latches which pop out the sticks of ram, and down there you can also simply just pull out the harddrive very easily also. very nice design
     
  6. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Noice, so if I went into a store and bought the 1299 one with the 60gig HD, could I have them up that to 80 in store?

    And looking at the ram prices, I might buy it with 512MB and just order 2 gigs online.
     
  7. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    can you share a link?
     
  8. RG

    RG New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28,233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Which memory vendor did you go with?
     
  9. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I picked up another 1G stick for my MBP last night, 2Gigs FTW!

    Corsair 667MHz
     
  10. RG

    RG New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28,233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
  11. nashstradamus

    nashstradamus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    what would be the best RAM for an Dual Core iMac 2.0?
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Corsair. /Thread
     
  13. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Corsair works very well...
    I got my RAM (2x1GB) from http://www.transintl.com/ just because they could get it to me the fastest and the price wasn't horrible.
     
  14. emorphien

    emorphien New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    RAM is RAM, it should work. I just wouldn't buy it for any laptop because I don't know how good their laptop memory is.
     
  15. Apothis

    Apothis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
  16. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just updated my Black Macbook from 512mb to 2GB of DDR2 666 SDRam and it made a very noticeable improvement in overall snappieness! Next upgrade is a 7200RPM SATA Hitatchi 100GB drive that im installing tomorrow. Then it'l be perfect!
     
  17. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    is the HD easy to access in the MB?
     
  18. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Super easy... pulls out from the battery area after you remove a little metal blocking plate.
     
  19. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    G SKILL ram :hsugh:
     
  20. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    :bowdown: but i bet 7200rpm HD's aren't cheap :hsd:
     
  21. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    Yeah, they make good memory.
     
  22. emorphien

    emorphien New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    It's actually been getting good reviews (their desktop memory at least, don't know about their laptop memory). But i'm extra picky about RAM I put in laptops. My previous laptop and my current thinkpad have Crucial in them.

    Nope. But worth it. Running 2gb of DDR2 533 and a 60gb 7200 RPM drive makes my Thinkpad unnecessarily fast.
     
  23. MrBucket

    MrBucket OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    140,213
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bergen County
    that is not true, good quality ram will be more stable and faster, also should be able to overclock more but not on a mac
    and ive heard macs are picky about ram so id rather get somthing good
     
  24. emorphien

    emorphien New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Actually it is indeed true. You're talking about good ram vs bad ram. But the Macbooks and a PC laptop will pretty much take the same ram. If it's cheap, crappy RAM I wouldn't put it in either.

    In the past there were some problems, particularly timing related from what I recall but with more recent G4 and intel laptops it's not really been a big issue in my experiences with it.

    That being said I'd buy my ram for a laptop from Crucial first. Kingston and Corsair are the other major brands I have experience with for laptops, but to be honest a powerbook or macbook or pc laptop will generally be fine with lesser RAM as long as it's not defective and runs at the right speed.
     
  25. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    :down: OWC is a complete ripoff.
     

Share This Page