So I got my Q6600 in today.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Doc Brown, Nov 16, 2007.

  1. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I keep telling you guys that the Zalman 7700Cu coolers are the way to go.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    That was about 10 minutes ago.

    I just checked and it's down to 36C now.

    :mamoru:
     
  3. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    I'm at 54°c, but that's under full load and @ 3GHz, not stock.

    That's with a thermalright ultra 120.
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm gonna let mine settle in before I start to tinker around with overclocking.

    But I got my hands on a G0 stepping one so I'll find out how far I can take it before I settle it back down to probably 3ghz or so. If that.
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    What's your temps at idle @3ghz?
     
  6. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    about 35 when my room is at a normal temperature.

    it would probably be a degree or 2 cooler if it was a G0 however, but I've got the B3.

    Which revision is yours?
     
  7. Kelex

    Kelex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    get coretemp 0.95.4

    @ stock speeds idle, mine never goes above 30.
    Q6600 G0 with Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme.

    currently 42 idle, 55 load @ 3.4GHz.
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    G0 stepping. I got it from Clubit.com. They were the only vendor that I trust that let you know the stepping in advance.
     
  9. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    hate the fullsize, I dont feel like resizing

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's not bad at all. I've been seeing some pretty crappy cooling numbers from people who have the Q6600.
     
  11. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Is the 3.4ghz with bumped voltage too or just a fsb adjustment?
     
  12. Kelex

    Kelex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    bumped voltage.

    Anything above 3GHz should have increased voltage so the CPU won't starve for power.

    Even flat 3GHz should be tested for stability and may need a bump in voltage.

    How much increase will all depend on your cpu, mobo, and ram.
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    How far did you have to push the voltage, and did you bump the memory and cpu voltage?
     
  14. 0mega

    0mega Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Mine is at 3.2ghz right now. Stable for four hours on Prime 95.

    Idle is around 39, under load is 65.
     
  15. Kelex

    Kelex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm at 1.31V for the CPU. It will work @ 1.30V but I need to compensate for vdroop for the oc to be stable.
    RAM is at default 2.2V.
    NB and SB is bumped one up.

    Note that those chip's default Vcore is 1.28V.
    Intel's recommended max is 1.35V.
    1.4+V is still safe, just watch your temps.
    At the 1.5+V range, it's not worth it because this amount of voltage will start to shorten your chip's lifespan, regardless of your core temps.

    Again, how much voltage will depend if you got a good batch of that CPU, your mobo, and your ram as well.
    Some needs 1.4+V for CPU to even reach 3.2GHz stable.
     
  16. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    This cpu is really settling in. After running it all day yesterday, the temps had fallen to 33C.

    And that's in a 76F room. I'm gonna try to get the room down to 70F for a while today to see what the cpu runs at.
     
  17. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    They would have to open a new coal mine a day for me to be able to get my room to 70 degrees any time before December :hsd:
     
  18. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    You mean your place is cold? My place is like that too, really. I wound up putting a gas insert into my fake fireplace to get this room so warm all the time.

    But after I saw some of the really low numbers in this thread, I did a couple of things and got some good numbers.

    First, I lowered the room temp to 71. Then I set my 3 backup drives to shut down after 15 minutes in power settings. So now the front fan isn't blowing air over warm 150gb Raptors.
    And on the side panel of my case it has one of those adjustable vents for the cpu.
    I pulled that out to where it almost touches the cpu fan, so now it has a better pipe to fresh air.
    Which brings me to these temps. What a difference a day makes.

    :coold:

    [​IMG]

    That's after running for about 2 hours now.
     
  19. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    No, I mean its too hot here
     
  20. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    Oh, duh. I just noticed the location. The coal mine comment threw me off.

    :hs:
     
  21. Bitter Moose

    Bitter Moose OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    13,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    So this is my Q6600 at stock speeds with a Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme. It pretty much blows, the thing idles hot as hell. Enjoy the low temps.
     
  22. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Is that under a gaming load or anything?

    :confused:



    How does it do if you take the side panel off of your case?
     
  23. 0mega

    0mega Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Can someone tell me what's causing the diffrence in temp reading between speed fan and coretemp?

    [​IMG]
     
  24. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    core temp is more accurate than speedfan. Core temp uses the diode built into the cpu to get the temperature, speedfan doesn't.
     
  25. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2007

Share This Page