A&P So I entered a photo contest...

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by friednanners, Sep 17, 2009.

1. friednanners

friednanners Sliver Member

I took a student trip to china this summer, and the tour company held a photo contest for the students on the trip. Grand prize was a $300 amazon gift card with 6 other gift cards of lower value also up for grabs, so I figured I'd send my stuff in. Only guidelines were that the photo could not be black and white, and that it had to capture the "essence" of the trip.

Here were the winners: http://www.explorica.com/about-us/in-the-news/2009/announcing-summer-2009-photo-contest-winners.aspx

:hsugh:

Now I'm not a professional photographer, I don't have a dslr or anything, I shot all my photos with a G10. This was the first set of photos I've ever edited in lightroom, so I was pretty much just fucking around...sure, horizons may be crooked, centered subject, vignette overboard, not enough lens flare, all that petty shit, etc....but seriously, were my photos that much worse than the winners? :ugh: what makes it even more ridiculous is that there were repeat winners :o

my contributions: http:[email protected]/

please, make me feel better about my photography skills :wtc:

2. EWhytsell

EWhytsell New Member

Well aside from the pic of the model you did, your shots probably didn't win due to not being as interesting (also not as colorful) as the winners.

Otherwise your shots are fine, its just a matter of the subject and the viewers tastes.

3. friednanners

I'm guessing they wanted more shots of students :o I really don't believe it had anything to do with colors or composition or editing, just subject matter.

4. friednanners

I should also add we were allowed 7 entries

5. Mutombo

Mutombo New Member

The winning photos are horrible :rofl:

6. friednanners

thank you.. I'm glad I'm not completely out of my mind

7. xenon supra

xenon supra OT Supporter