so how do i fix a virus that norton wont let me?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by n1ck54, Jul 22, 2006.

  1. n1ck54

    n1ck54 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    12,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    so i now have a permanent norton popup that comes back everytime i click ok. :hs:

    [​IMG]

    it wont let me repair, quarantine, or delete it. so how do i get rid of this mufucka
     
  2. kronik85

    kronik85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    34,837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Deutschland
    try booting into safemode and removing? i couldnt' find that particular virus/file on google at all. so who knows.
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you look under histories, you will find it in the virus list.
    You can delete it there.
     
  4. n1ck54

    n1ck54 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    12,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    histories? is this in norton? because i dont see a histories menu/button anywhere :o
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    On mine, it's in an area where I can find scans, custom scans, configure, etc.

    And the virus list is under Histories.
     
  6. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    safe mode is the key. It can't remove the file if it's in use.
     
  7. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Don't use Norton if it won't remove it. Download AVG from http://free.grisoft.com and let it run and update then scan with it. I removed Norton since it's such a CPU hog and installed AVG instead. I've since been removing infections with AVG that Norton wouldn't even find.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You people....where do you get all these viruses from? I haven't had one in years.
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    From p2p stuff, mostly.

    But Norton disables them before they can do any damage.
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's been my experience with Norton, too. Most people just don't know how to configure Symantec Antivirus Corporate Edition, that's all.

    I haven't used P2P in years; remember, connecting to the internet is like having sex with everybody on earth all at once, and there are some shady mufuckas out there.
     
  11. Clarity

    Clarity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    reformat. lol.

    it takes me 20 min tops to do a full reformat =/
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    And what miracle do you use to reinstall all of your apps and copy all of your data files, along with reformatting the HDD and reinstalling the OS?
     

Share This Page