So how did I do for my new comp?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by zedekias, Oct 3, 2007.

  1. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    Don't flame too hard since I already put in the order. :o


    Intel® Core,, 2 Q6600 Quad-Core (8MB L2 cache,2.4GHz,1066FSB)

    4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz - 4 DIMMs

    256MB NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT-DDR3

    500GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache,,

    Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium

    Dual Drives: 48x Combo + 16x DVD+/-RW w/ dbl layer write capable

    Integrated Sound Blaster®Audigy,, HD Software Edition

    Dell WL6000 5.8GHz Wireless Rear 5.1 Speaker System with Subwoofer

    24 inch UltraSharp,, 2407FPW Widescreen Digital Flat Panel
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Good gear.

    How much did it run you?
     
  3. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    Everyone will obviously say I paid too much. But 2300.
     
  4. Smelly-Kitten

    Smelly-Kitten Dept. of Redundancy Department *Side Pipes

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCSD
    nice, i just got a new set up. Same graphics card and hardrive, just an AMD processor though
     
  5. Smelly-Kitten

    Smelly-Kitten Dept. of Redundancy Department *Side Pipes

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCSD

    eek
     
  6. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    I'm glad I've gotten positive feedback so far. I don't know THAT much about hardware and didn't research very much. :rofl:

    I'm very glad I'm getting a new setup though. I've had my current dell for the past 6 years. With 256mb ram. 40gig harddrive. etc...
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    thats a lot of money to pay on a fucking dell. you are a wonderful sucker. You must be in the market for some tremendous beach-front property in Colorado.
     
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    you should have bought the cheapest and lowest config, and buy the extras on newegg

    nah,.. you should have built from scratch
     
  9. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    Money wasn't that big of an issue. It's insurance money from my robbery. :wtc:

    And I did plan on having a friend build a computer for me, but he flaked out. And I don't think i'm experienced enough to do it on my own. Or have the time to find out how to do it.
     
  10. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    Also gotta remember the monitor was $650. :hs:
     
  11. Smelly-Kitten

    Smelly-Kitten Dept. of Redundancy Department *Side Pipes

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCSD
    yeah....

    ASUS M2N-E AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 Ultra MCP ATX AMD Motherboard

    EVGA 256-P2-N755-TR GeForce 8600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card

    OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Windsor 2.4GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor

    Western Digital Caviar RE WD1600YS 160GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

    COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-UW Black Aluminum Bezel

    APEVIA CF12S 120mm Case Fan

    OKGEAR 18" SATA II cable with metal latch

    EDIT: + Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC ATX 430W Power Supply

    all for $567 + $80 total rebates = $487 and free Windows XP Prof.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2007
  12. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    I know you can save money from building it on your own. I wasn't asking if my computer was good for the price. I was just asking if it was good.
     
  13. Smelly-Kitten

    Smelly-Kitten Dept. of Redundancy Department *Side Pipes

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCSD
    it is good. But everything is relitive. Relative to what you coulda bought for that much it may not be so good.
     
  14. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    But you can say that about anyone who buys a dell, apple, etc... My computer is better than yours by the way. :p Even though I paid a fuck ton more. :hs:

    And if it makes any difference... That price I listed came with a sweet keyboard and mouse. :rofl:
     
  15. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Not worth defending yourself on OT over a computer you didn't make the silicon for yourself. Probably could have saved a few hundred, and got better parts, but yes it's fine. 8600GT isn't brilliant, but you didn't say what you were using it for.
     
  16. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    what model? xps410?
     
  17. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    You are correct.
     
  18. Smelly-Kitten

    Smelly-Kitten Dept. of Redundancy Department *Side Pipes

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCSD
    not sure you'll require a quad core or 4GB or RAM for your extent of applicability
     
  19. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    Of course I won't need it for now. But I plan on keeping this computer for a long time.

    I really kicked myself in the ass for not splurging for that 512 of ram back in the day.
     
  20. Smelly-Kitten

    Smelly-Kitten Dept. of Redundancy Department *Side Pipes

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCSD
    your motherboard has 4 slots, u can add/upgrade RAM as you please. No technical knowledge needed
     
  21. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    But I have a lot of extra money right now. :hsugh: I don't want to upgrade for a while either.
     
  22. Smelly-Kitten

    Smelly-Kitten Dept. of Redundancy Department *Side Pipes

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCSD
    im not saying u'll need more than 4. All im saying is you can buy what u need RAm wise and always add as needed. Instead of spending $240 on 4GB from Dell
     
  23. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    I know you weren't suggesting I get more than 4gigs.

    But honestly, I just didn't want to add as needed. I wanted to be set for a while. I'd rather just spend the 240 from dell now and be done with it.
     
  24. Smelly-Kitten

    Smelly-Kitten Dept. of Redundancy Department *Side Pipes

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCSD
    only reason i mention it is because computer part prices change so frequently that when you do need 2 more gigs then it'll be 1/2 the price. but i can understand wanting to be done w/ it
     
  25. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    Well that does make sense. :o

    But thanks for understanding where I was coming from.
     

Share This Page