So, after using a mac for 2 months, Windows is such a PITA

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by lemacfar, Aug 12, 2008.

  1. lemacfar

    lemacfar Med/Watch/Headphone/Persian Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    8,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    We are Marshall...
    Mind you I've been a windows user since 3.1!

    I currently am in shock at how much of an F-story it is !

    I start up my PC after a month and i have about no lie 10 updates to perform

    WTF!

    ohh and i'm so spoiled by the OSX quirks... like I'm constantly just typing the name of the website I want in IE instead of .com like i'm used to in a mac and have to retype it in correctly lol

    Another thing, my desktop is almost the exact speed and memory etc etc of the MBP I have 2.4 4gigs etc etc and It is like I'm running windows on a Celeron D processor lol

    OK /rant MACFANBOY4LYF
     
  2. TK-421

    TK-421 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  3. HaXoC

    HaXoC Pill Counter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston/Salem, MA
    mmmmm macs
     
  4. Rorschach

    Rorschach New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    30,147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dude,, I agree SO MUCH,,,,

    to me. now.. My Alienware is like a glorified XBOX.....

    Im keeping it around for Empire:Total war.. and thats all...
     
  5. lemacfar

    lemacfar Med/Watch/Headphone/Persian Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    8,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    We are Marshall...
    I am really hoping that Starcraft 2 will play on my MBP 2.4 4giger

    I sold my desktop to my dad today so No more windows officially
     
  6. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I have a Vista work laptop and it's really not all that bad. I would prefer to use a Mac, but I have to demonstrate our software and drivers, so I need to actually have a machine that has our silicon in it ;)
     
  7. mad_vtak

    mad_vtak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memfrica
    Windows has always been a PITA. :wiggle:
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    where i work, we have to have multiple browser windows open + a couple of equipment management and testing programs

    having spaces and expose would be so awesome, but the software only works on windows and they will not allow you to install your own software - so fakespaces/expose for windows is out

    i can whip through stuff on my macbook way faster than with a windows pc
     
  9. Kirk Hinrich

    Kirk Hinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brown Line
    should run fine
     
  10. bovine

    bovine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Are you really stupid enough to think that that's a feature of OS X? I never need to type the .com in Firefox on my Vista laptop.
     
  11. lemacfar

    lemacfar Med/Watch/Headphone/Persian Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    8,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    We are Marshall...
    Well I never install non-OS browsers thats for the people who think they are eccentric or some shit
     
  12. assclown

    assclown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    92,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    So you've been using Windows since 3.1 and you're still using IE? :ugh: You can type the name of a website in firefox and it will bring you to it.

    Your Windows experience sounds like user error to me. Don't get me wrong, I like OSX, but going back and forth between OSX/Windows is fine. I actually prefer Windows for most things, including audio production.
     
  13. assclown

    assclown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    92,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Do you not install non-OS specific programs either? Not everything that comes with your OS is the best solution. Think aftermarket parts for your car. Sometimes they're better than OEM if you're going for performance. :hsugh:
     
  14. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio

    sharing files with samba machines used to be really buggy, they have improved it somewhat since 10.5.3
     

Share This Page